We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fat patties” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Patties

Fat Patties
Ranked #19 of 160 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fat Patties is a Hand Crafted American Burger Joint. We offer our creative burger concoctions with the option of 5 different patties: Grass Feed Beef, ½ n 1/2(Ground Beef and Ground Bacon), Wild American Shrimp, Turkey, or a Vegetarian Black Bean Pattie served on our homemade buttery buns. Our Brats are simmered in American Ale and topped with the same extravagant toppings as our Burgers. We also make our own Ice Cream with unique flavors like Bacon Maple, White Chocolate Cayenne as well as traditional flavors. We can’t wait for you to try it!
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fat patties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

humanely raised meats, bean burgers (w/ avocado, jalapeños and goat cheese) thin fries w/ sea salt and rosemary, good beers in a cool atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank a-lady-who-lunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    84
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting Concept and worth a few visits to try ALL the options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The menu is really unique - burgers made of beef, 1/2 bacon, turkey, black bean, or shrimp. Then brats . All kinds of GREAT topings pre-offered OR build your own. I had a beef "Fuhgetaboutitburger" with marinara &, mozzerella & basil mayo and it was delicious!! My husband had the "Verde" - jalf bacon/half beef w/ guacamole, jalapeno, and goat cheese,hold the jalapeno. and he said it was amazing. both came w/ really tastey rosemary fries. We sat at the bar and had great service. Amazing assortment (I think 16) beers on tap, plus full bar. They also offer homemade icecream, but we were too full to try it this time.

It was a long time in the building process, and the design was well worth the wait. Very cool atmosphere and if the weather is just right, as it was last night, the large glass doors open all the way on both sides to let in the cool evening breez. The downside for a non-smoker is that the cigarette smoke also drifts in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank etakwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just Plain Bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a bad experience. The hamburger, ordered medium rare, came out so overcooked it was DRY. The menu said Brats and Sausages, but there were no brats on the menu. The Italian sausage was but half a link, dry and flavorless, filled only half of the bun and was rubbery. The fries were covered with salt and inedible. Just avoid this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mangomon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I live in Beaufort and there really aren't any good burger-only places in town (no 5 Guys or B&D like nearby Savannah). We were skeptical of how this place would turn out but it was great! Our waiter was very nice, extremely knowledgeable about the food and beer selection, and seemed really enthusiastic about the food and his work in general. They offer bean burgers, turkey burgers, half bacon/beef burgers, full beef burgers, and a few others. You can choose your meat and some pre-designated toppings or create your own custom burger. I don't recall the name of what I ordered, but it was half bacon/beef with blue cheese and carmelized onions. It was fantastic! My husband really liked their spiced ketchup, too. As a few others have said, the parking was limited and tight but for me that was the only down side. Definitely worth the money in my opinon. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New Burger Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went a few weeks after they opened. I got a half beef/half bacon buger with goat cheese, lettuce and tomatoes. We also ordered fries and a soda. The bill came to right at 30 dollars. When the fries came we thought it was a joke. They gave me 14 fries and my husband 19 fries...for 15 bucks for burger/fries and coke a piece, I woulda though there would be a lot of fries or at least an exceptional burger. On the whole it was fine...but it was nothing spectacular. Parking is very limited, so go early or late, but if you go at the regular lunch time or dinner time, you'll have a hard time parking. The highest note for me was the service. It was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Patties also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fat Patties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing