We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Egos”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Suns Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2007

The second thing we noticed about Two Suns (after the charming view) was the constant reminders of the things guests shouldn't do: it seemed that everywhere we looked there was another little sign that began 'Do not. . . .' A friend of ours recommended Two Suns - with the caveat that the owners were a bit stand-offish. As we found out, that they are. But even worse is In fact, I doubt this pair really want to run a b&b at all, but suffer their guests with little graciousness.

Then there is their sad fixation on their past 'glories' in film and theatre - photos of which dominate the downstairs.

As for the inn itself, the rooms are small and cramped, decorated in dusty pseudo-Victorian. Breakfast are OK, sort of - on both mornings of our stay, breakfast began with a cold dish that really would have tasted a lot better warm, and the coffee was weak.

The inn's sole salvation is the view from the front porch. But we wound up spending as little time on the premises as possible - it was all too depressing.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank miz_carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2006

I really enjoyed the porch. You could sit and sip your coffee or tea in the morning and watch the tide come in or go out. That was the positive side. The negatives were that the rooms were satisfactory but not outstanding. The bathrooms were adequate but very small.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patellaOwensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Too bad we didn't read previous reviews before going, as it was right on the money. Food that was presented as "gourmet", was a toaster waffle with berries and ready-whip and then a poached egg on half an English muffin, coffee (tea) and orange juice. Second morning--croissant with something in center and dab of ready-whip and fluffy scrambled egg with half a cold ready made biscuit. We stayed on the third floor sky-light room with a small bath and only a shower. The rattan headboards had paperback books leveling them, as the floor slanted. The previous reviewer was correct that the furniture was not all that great, as a matter of fact, cheap, cheap, cheap is what comes to mind. The linens were of poor quality and not "fresh" smelling. ICK!! The porch, which looks in pictures as if it is directly on the bay, is actually on the busiest street in town. Besides all of the above, the host Henri, who was somewhat friendly, did not make me feel welcome. The hostess, Patricia, seemed more bothered by the guests than anything else. I certainly won't be returning to this inn, but will only recommend that you do not go!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2005

We spent our 20th anniversary here. We've never stayed here before, but found it to be a very pleasant surprise (we stayed in the skylight room which has a great view especially if you enjoy looking at the stars at night). The hosts were very nice and gave us good advice on area restaurants. Great view of the bay from the porch. We will probably plan on staying here again.

J.B.
Salisbury, N.C.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charleston, SC
11
Reviewed March 19, 2005

Due to reading a couple of negative comments I had reservations about booking a room. I am so glad I did. I stayed in the library, a lovely room on the 1st floor. The hosts were helpful and friendly and breakfast was great. What more could you ask for from a B&B. If I am in Beaufort again, you will find me on two suns verandah.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney. Australia
14
Reviewed March 3, 2005

We have just spent 3 days at the Twosuns Inn Bed & Breakfasst and found it to live up to the recommentation of friends who had stayed there last year. The hosts were as charming and helpful as we expected. The breakfasts were among the finest we had in previous memorable B & B's.
Our room was most attractive and spotlessly clean. All in all we had a marvellous stay and felt like we were being treated like family without being over fussed.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, Florida
217
Reviewed January 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed here on our anniversary. It was an impromtu trip on New Year's Eve. We were happily surprised to find a room available - little did we know. The room was probably once nice - in the 70's. .It was not filled with very high quality furniture. The rooms definitely needed updated. Our room was also "special" since it had an enclosed porch. The porch furniture was plastic lawn furniture. We could look into the bathroom of the room next to ours. We asked our host if there was a restaurant he could suggest. He said that there were plenty but he wished us luck on getting into anything that night. That was as far as his help went. Luckily, we had no problem getting in to a restaurant. Since it was our anniversary (which I had mentioned when I made the reservations), I thought that the hosts would wish us well. They never even mentioned it. We noticed that the inn must have been owned and run by another couple before our current hosts purchased it. It was so tacky that they still had all of the literature with the former hosts pictures on it in the rooms. I know that they must have purchased it from them several years ago - giving them plenty of time to redo the literature. Our gourmet breakfast was lacking in gourmet and quality. Basically, the inn is a joke and the hosts who are laughing all the way to the bank.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.6 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 16 in Beaufort
1,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage 1770 Inn
Anchorage 1770 Inn
#2 of 5 in Beaufort
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cuthbert House Inn
Cuthbert House Inn
#1 of 5 in Beaufort
624 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beaulieu House at Cat Island
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Suns Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Suns Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1705 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5406
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: $90 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing