We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to bring the kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunting Island State Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunting Island State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to bring the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went here with the grandkids and daughter and had a wonderful day.

the lighthouse was real cool, and I got some nice photos. the ground around the lighthouse have a great story about them, making the stop more interesting. Then there is the beach, which the kids just loved.

On the road heading out here, we saw one of the boats used in the movie Forrest gump and we were told that the movie GI Jane with Demi Moore was partly filmed at the state park.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at any of the camp sites, as our daughter lives in Beaufort, but they did look ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    33
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hunting Island State Park Campground in Beaufort, SC. We decided to take our newly purchased RV Van for our first Winter Getaway. Our original intent was just to get out of New England a couple weeks during the Winter to break-up the deep setted cold.
We took the coastal route from Boston to South Carolina; visiting the Outer Banks on our way down. Great scenic route.
Our experience at the island campground was fabulous. We stayed in a wooded campsite that was a short wal to the beach (a gorgeous, white sand area). Everyday we walked and visited new areas on the island. There are plenty of trails and things to see. we are both in our 60's and met several other travelers who were ALL very nice. We camped the weeks prior to scholl vacation and there were very few children at the campground. If you have kids, you're probably better off going during the Summer or a school vacation. For us, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milrgeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This state park is wonderful. We stayed for two nights on our way to Florida. We stayed in site #6. It is a pull through, but a very large site looking right at the Atlantic Ocean. Close enough to the office to have internet at the site. Dog friendly beach, great to walk on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemaedigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This was a great get away for a few days. Beautiful location, great amenities, well kept, and awesome nature. I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. Great hideaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjhart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not sure if I want to share this place with the huddled masses....Fantastic hide-a-way to enjoy nature (forest & beach), especially in December. Better come soon, because the beach erosion is taking a toll.
Good, well documented hiking trails too. Park staff is friendly, and they share the front gate combination for late arrivals/early departures & emergencies. Bathrooms/showers are well kept and clean. Great value for a moderate fee.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hessrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A great state park campground. Not a place with loads of attractions, but a place to walk on the beach or let the kids play in the woods. Most sites in the wooded loops are large, but a few of the "pull through" sites are small loops off the road. The beach front loops show the power of the ocean as several campsites have been lost to the sea over the years. The bath houses are beginning to show their age, but plenty of water pressure and hot water are there for your use. We will be back!

Room Tip: Wooded loops can have bugs in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, SC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I love this campground. First, let me say that this SC state park is the most visited in the state with over a millon visitors per year. We went in May 2012 in a tent. We stayed on site 89? Before we went we were told mosquitos were horrible in summer. In early May we had very minor problems with mosquitos. We are from SC though, so mosquitos are nothing we aren't used to. Take your bug spray. I would not stay in the back camp sites in the heat of the summer due to the mosquitos. The beachfront camp sites were very, very windy when we were there in May. I immediately decided I would never stay in them. Who wants to camp with a constant 20-30 mph wind? They are bug free, I guess. It might have just been the time of year? Our campsite had no wind and was directly across from bathrooms. Bathrooms are standard SC state park. Normally clean and nothing special. I agree with some people that the campground hosts were less than helpful. In our campsite we had lots of wildlife visitors. Deer walked right up to us. We hand fed a doe some strawberries. The kids loved it. Racoons visible even in broad daylight. A fox ran through after dark. Wild cats (house cat variety) are everywhere, but don't bother you. The park hosts did inform us of the racoons and to keep everything locked up in your car. We did lock everything up. My sister left her cooler with shrimp (bait) out and the racoons opened and ate it. My other sister had food in her tent in a tupperware type container and a racoom opened her tent and entered it during the night. Luckily, he left quickly when they turned on a light.

They have a great nature center with a dock. They will loan you fishing poles. We loved all the animals/educational information there. The kids loved the crabs and had a great time catching the slow ones in the marsh. They have a couple short trails for walking too. We paid the cheap - maybe $2 fee to climb to the top of the lighthouse.

The walk from our campsite was rather long through thick sand. We had teh beach basically to ourselves. The campground beach is just for the campers. There might have been 10 familes on this long stretch of beach when we were there. The sand on the beach is nothing unusual (normal Hilton Head/Myrtle Bch colored sand.). the sand in the campground is black. The campground is very shady as are most SP campgrounds in SC.

Reservations for this campground need to be made months ahead of time for prime spots.

We love it and can't wait to return. There are very few oceanfront state park campgrounds in SC. This is a gem.

Room Tip: stay close to beachfront (lower numbers) for less bugs. more wildlife towards back of campground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MurfeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
24.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
14.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
22.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunting Island State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunting Island State Park Campground

Property: Hunting Island State Park Campground
Address: 2555 Sea Island Parkway, Beaufort, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Hunting Island State Park Campground Hotel Beaufort
Hunting Island State Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing