We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot Work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Spring Hill, Fl
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Needs a lot Work”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This property is beginning to look worn but not yet torn. Staff were helpful and pleasant but the place simply needs refreshing. I don't get the feeling that local ownership/management is willing to spend a dime.

The breakfast pretty much reflected management's style by being fair at best.

The carpet in room 222 was worn but clean. The bathroom was adequate and included the basic toiletries. The furniture was worn and mostly uncomfortable.

The fold out sofa bed (more on that later) was not made up and when I informed the desk that there were no sheets, blankets or pillows in anyof the obvious places they assured me that I was wrong. When I ticked off the places that I had searched the manager looked horrified and sent someone up to make up the sofabed.

Now about that sofabed, they are all bad but this one should have been in the sofabed hall of fame. The mattress was lumpy and filled with some really horrid springs. The second night I pulled the cushions off the sofa, wrapped them in a sheet and slept on the floor.

Needless to say, I will not return under any circumstances

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a410traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Also, we are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Randy LaGrone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    120
    77
    81
    85
See reviews for
327
84
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Highly recommend this Inn for any family that has a son or daughter in Parris Island. The location is perfect, there are many good places to eat around, and if you forgot your shirt for Family/Graduation day there is a store 50 yards away. Just bear in mind, there will be a few things wrong due to the number of families staying ,and the downtime the staff has to do maintenance to rooms. The continental breakfast we found was satisfying, although alot of people where up early, the staff tried hard to make sure the food trays were kept full. The front desk staff were very nice, and were glad to help with any questions. The pool was perfect for kids, could have used a good good scrubbing, but like mentioned above, staff needs time to do this. Our room was a suite and it was quite comfy and large.. Stay here and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: Suites are quite large and comfy to us. 3rd floor might be good and there is a small street in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was told the hotel is undergoing renovations but if a room is being renovated it should not be
given to guests until it is finished. We had a very large dead bug, no heat, no hot water in the sink, the milk in the breakfast room was sour. The manager did not call me as promised. I called him 4 days later and was informed that I only paid $51 for the room so I would not be entitled to any other discount for the stay. I did also pay 5,000 points from my account, but that does not seem to matter. The manager wanted me to go out of my way to stay there again, for free, and that was the only compromise he would suggest. I suggest that no one stay there until they get their act together and find someone with better manners. Country Inns & Suites were told about this and were very courteous and helpful and will look into this matter.

Room Tip: After checking into a room, check out the heat, hot water and general condition of the room.If not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abagail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiv D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please do not go this route and use 3rd party OTA's(Online Travel Agencies). Just like this guest you will end up paying for three nights. You must understand the non-refundable policy. Do not blame the hotel for trying to save 20%. I understand the frustration but it is not our fault. Please learn from your mistakes Abagail.

This guest booked their reservation through a third party online travel agency. The hotel nor it's staff is subject to scrutiny because you thought you would save money paying for an advanced purchase reservation through the expedia,priceline, etc.

If you booked directly through the hotel, you would not have to pay for those additional nights. In the long run if you booked direct through my hotel you would have saved a lot of money.

Sincerely,

Shiv J. Desai
General Manager
Director of Sales
Country Inn & Suites Beaufort
843.379.4000
cx_beaw@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaufort hotels

Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I love staying here. I spend time in Beaufort off and on to see family and this is my place of choice. It is inexpensive and the staff is helpful and friendly. I have always been of the opinion that the front staff make the hotel. The room was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRidgeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Level Contributor
148 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had stayed here one prervious time and we found the hotel to be sufficient. I had one bad experience with a host, and the management gave us one free night on our next trip. So, we took him up on his offer. Upon returning to the hotel (about 3 months after our last visit), we found things to be worse. The pool was closed for repair. The free breakfast was lacking in quanity available, and quality. We waited for regular coffee on 2 mornings, waited for fresh eggs on one morning, and no fresh fruit was available on two mornings. On the third morning, we opted to go OUT for breakfast at an area restaurant. We will no longer be staying here when we go down to Beaufort.

Room Tip: The upper story is away from the entry and breakfast area. We have stayed on both the first floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmakatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Support Specialist at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns regarding the breakfast and the pool at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West to our attention. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and ask that you please accept our sincere apologies for this situation.

Thank you again for the feedback. We will use it to fine tune our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a dirty hotel room... But this place took the cake. Our first night, we found a pair of underwear hanging to dry in plain sight. It all went downhill from there. We had 3 rooms in total for the 2 nights and each room was either filthy(hair on the walls of the shower), not working properly(our tub never drained after the first shower) and the manager looked at us as if it was our fault. The only reason I gave the "service" rating a 2 was because of the other people who worked there. I felt so bad for them. One poor guy had only been working there for a week and was bombarded with problems. Breakfast was horrible! Like I said, don't waste your time and money. You will regret staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlie9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns regarding the lack of cleanliness at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West to our attention. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and ask that you please accept our sincere apologies for this situation.

Thank you again for the feedback. We will use it to fine tune our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a room for 3 nights for a USMC Graduation. Room was presentable and comfortable until we tried the air conditioner. We were at the top of the stairs on the second floor above the heated pool. Room temp was 80+ and when we tried the air conditioner, it did not cool the room. We switched rooms on Saturday to the 3rd floor and the shower exhaust fan did not work.
Went from the frying pan to the fire.
When we asked the manager about a discount, he refused and said he would give us a free night on our next visit. Wellllll, we do not know if we will ever be returning to that area, so we tried to get a discount on this stay, NO GO!
Bathtubs are rusty, hot breakfast was unedible, cereal was awesome and milk was cold.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel! Manager is unwilling to compensate for inconvenience. Breakfast sucked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We apologize for the problems you encountered regarding the faulty AC unit, and the malfunctioning exhaust fan. We will notify maintenance to ensure these issues are resolved as soon as possible. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can take the necessary measures as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#11 of 15 in Beaufort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
Address: 2450 Boundary St, Beaufort, SC 29906-3769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in Beautiful Beaufort South Carolina features 77 Guest Rooms and Suites including Jacuzzi Suites. We offer a Free Hot Breakfast, Free High Speed WI-FI Internet, Indoor Heated Pool. The Country Inn and Suites, Beaufort, South Carolina is a 100% Non-Smoking Property. Enjoy our Southern Charm as our "Team" will make your stay a pleasant one. Come visit and Let Us "Welcome You To Our Home, Our Country"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Beaufort West
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Beaufort West Hotel Beaufort
Country Inn Beaufort
Beaufort Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing