We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well maintained historic homes”
Review of The Point

The Point
Ranked #12 of 61 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newnan GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well maintained historic homes”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spent a morning walking around this peaceful, spanish moss draped neighborhood of historic homes, including the home in the film "The Big Chill". Most have been restored and are in great condition.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisey052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    18
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking...”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

When my husband and I 1st moved to the area we stumbled across these huge historical mansions with dramatic oaks extending their long crooked arms above us, draped with delicate Spanish moss as we strolled down the quiet streets... we thought we were in a southern fairy tale set back in time! What an amazing area, The Point... Definitely excited to see the inside of some of the homes during Homes for the Holidays, the weekend before Thanksgiving!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovely-n-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fascinating old houses”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The neighborhood of lovely old houses is extensive, well worth a visit. Suggest a carriage ride with guide, in addition to a long walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
444 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful...Peaceful”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We did a little driving and walking through the Point. This is one of those places that makes you almost immediately wish you lived here in one of the wonderful mansions. The Point is about 5-6 blocks by 3-4 blocks, so it is a pretty good sized area. You can walk around and it is so peaceful and shady that you just want to keep on walking and looking. One of the most beautiful areas that my wife and I have visited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We love to stroll around the peaceful little streets and admire the homes there. It is so quiet we find ourselves whispering to each other!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing