We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”

Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 165 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a full Market with a Cafe serving breakfast and lunch 7 days a week (on Sunday we serve Breakfast and Lunch until 3). We serve fresh hot doughnuts every morning along with our delicious breakfast and our LCP Burger was voted "Best Burger" in Beaufort!! Don't forget to try our Ooey Gooey and Frank's Furter, both featured in Southern Living Magazine. And we were named a "South's Top Shop" by Garden & Gun Magazine.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was ok. Pimento and cheese tasted 'metalic'. Found out it was made with horseradish. Not a fan although they sell tons of it. Manager did take it off bill. Iced shortbread cookies were yummy. It is the Modica Market (Seaside, Fl) of South Carolina.

Thank Becky0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowcountry Prod... P, General Manager at Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of our restaurant but sorry you didn't enjoy your pimento cheese. We hope that you will come back to visit in the near future and try one of our other delicious menu items and have another iced cookie for dessert!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 488 of 567 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I used Yelp to find a lunch place on a quick trip through Beaufort. The store is charming, with gourmet items throughout for sale, but the real stars come from the kitchen! My husband had the burger that he said was very good, and I had the hotdog special, with strawberry jam and grilled onions. The flavor mixture with the excellent hot dog, was perfect! Everything we saw coming out of the kitchen the patrons were enjoying. I highly recommend eating here!

2  Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowcountry Prod... P, General Manager at Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

You experienced 2 of our best lunch sellers ~ the burgers are made fresh daily and the Frank's Furter was actually a recipe one of our customers used to order! We finally tasted it and now it is a best seller of hot dogs on our lunch menu!! Thank you for taking the time to review ~ we will share your wonderful comments with the chef and his staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Grits were the best we've ever eaten, as were the cheddar biscuits. Ambiance is very cool and service is excellent. Highly recommend!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jdl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowcountry Prod... P, General Manager at Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of our breakfast ~ we use grits from Edisto in the restaurant as well as sell them in the Market!! The Buttermilk Cheddar Biscuits are made daily and are always a big hit with the breakfast crowd!! Come back to visit us for lunch or supper sometime and enjoy our ambiance!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant started as a produce stand out in the country, started serving lunch, got popular and expanded. This review is for Sunday brunch at the Beaufort SC restaurant, located in the old court house downtown. If you know where the Beaufort Library is, it is next door and shares the parking lot. Don't park in a library space unless you want to feed their meters.

The breakfast menu was excellent, and you could also order most of the items on the lunch menu. The breakfast items remain available until brunch is over at 3:00. I had "Fish and Eggs" which was a wonderful omelet full of salmon, feta cheese and other secrets. The others in my party were happy with their meals too.

If you are looking for breakfast or lunch in Beaufort, this is a good choice. I also recommend their original store in Lobeco SC for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dbjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowcountry Prod... P, General Manager at Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Your review was wonderful ~ thank you so much for your great review of our Sunday Brunch! The Fish and Eggs is a delicious new addition to the breakfast menu and well received by our customers. We are glad that you are aware of our parking behind the restaurant that is not metered and look forward to seeing you again for lunch or even a Lowcountry Supper!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

nice selection of local produce - and a large wine collection. Lovely cookies and great service. The buidling were very interesting

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CPHBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowcountry Prod... P, General Manager at Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and nice comments. We try to use as much local produce as possible and to have a good selection of wine for anyone's taste preferences. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lowcountry Produce Market & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing