We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Taste Experience”
Review of Griffin Market

Griffin Market
Ranked #25 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the lowcountry of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exquisite Taste Experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife & I went here for her birthday. We experienced authentic Italian food, much to our delight. Having traveled in Italy numerous times, Griffin Market's offerings matched up well. The unique menu choices, the owner's expensive knowledge, & the polite wait staff added up to a top-notch night. Continued success!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisadiBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    34
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sunday Night Supper”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Intimate, wonderful location for a Sunday night supper. Reservations required. If you have ever traveled to Italy you will appreciate the portions of the anti-pasti, primi and secondi. A recent recipiant of Wine Spectators new restaurant award, the list is impressive to say the least. Ricardo will offer suggestions based on your price point, so don't be afraid to ask. My favorite, (recomended by Ricardo) Vino de Nobile de Montepulciano Valdipiata, lovely Red. As for the food, Pat Conroy claimed it to be the finast Italian food in South Carolina. I would add most authentic. Don't miss it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband took me there for my birthday dinner and I could not have been more pleased. It was quaint and cozy. The food was not the run of the mill red sauce and pasta, it was unique in flavor and preparation. We went on Sunday so they had the 4 course meal special. Everything we tasted....we liked so we will be returning in the future.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOsburn554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Light Italian”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a great find. My wife and I had avoided going because we did not want a hevy meal, but the food was fantastic and the portions were not overdone (we also did not leave hungry). Great service and ambiance, as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“overall nice experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First you have to find this place... you certainly wouldn't guess it is a restaurant by the exterior and there's no signage. We asked the folks at the coffee shop. Once we got our food, however, it was worth the effort. The pasta course for both my wife and me was absolutely outstanding! I wouldn't select the chicken for the third course again, it was beyond bland but nicely done. My wife's fish was excellent. The dessert and coffee were also excellent and the complimentary cookies and drink were a very nice touch. The wine selection was fairly broad for a small town. We'll go back for certain to see if there's consistency because on this night it was very, very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin Market also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Griffin Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing