We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FELECIA1683”

Papaya Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar
Ranked #28 of 162 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Charles St.
Transit: not available
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
“FELECIA1683”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just didn't feel like the food or service was that good. Stop here because where I usually go wasn't open when I got out of church. But I have heard others say the enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FELECIA1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, SC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ate here twice during a recent trip. Great spice pad thai. Not crowded at all but we did go on weeknights. A little pricey but huge portions so definitely had enough for another meal. Will definitely go here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeDeeDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty food, but cold”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went with friends to this restaurant. I had been once before, but left after waiting five minutes at the table for a server--and the place had only two other occupied tables. Service on this night in July was much better.
My husband and our friends loved the crunchy roll as an appetizer. I had the spring rolls, which were very good. My husband raved about the duck dish he had as an entree'. The chief made it Thai hot, as requested. I had the pork loin dish, which was very tasty, but lukewarm, which is why I cannot give this restaurant a five star review. It is worth a trip there and unlike the Thai restaurant around the corner, you don't feel like you are sitting on top of other diners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The Asian in me craved for some native food tonight, after a whole day of running around in the hot South Carolinian sun. We settled on Thai, since that was the closest Asian restaurant. Pleasantly surprised. We came in 30 minutes before closing so we decided to do takeout instead of dine in. We had the seafood pho soup, summer rolls, and pad thai. Everything was very good and fresh. The soup was flavorful, but not overly salty. The summer rolls were still slightly warm when we got back to our hotel and were just starting to get mushy, but still good. If you end up getting this to go, consider asking them not to wrap the rolls with saran wrap. The only complaint I have is the cost. The seafood pho soup was $14.95 for 3 jumbo shrimp, 3 mussels, 4 calamari slices, broth, and noodle (I counted). But it was good and enjoyable. You get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelblossom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The Asian in me craved for some native food tonight, after a whole day of running around in the hot South Carolinian sun. We settled on Thai, since that was the closest Asian restaurant. Pleasantly surprised. We came in 30 minutes before closing so we decided to do takeout instead of dine in. We had the seafood pho soup, summer rolls, and pad thai. Everything was very good and fresh. The soup was flavorful, but not overly salty. The summer rolls were still slightly warm when we got back to our hotel and were just starting to get mushy, but still good. If you end up getting this to go, consider asking them not to wrap the rolls with saran wrap. The only complaint I have is the cost. The seafood pho soup was $14.95 for 3 jumbo shrimp, 3 mussels, 4 calamari slices, broth, and noodle (I counted). But it was good and enjoyable. You get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelblossom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Papaya Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing