We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of the "Old South"”
Review of Southern Graces Bistro - CLOSED

Southern Graces Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Indulgent Dining in a Beautifully Historic Setting, Southern Graces BISTRO at The Beaufort Inn is a diner's delight, featuring New Southern cuisine featuring fresh local ingredients presented in an artfully delicious way. Enjoy our legendary Vertical Cobb Salad or our Lowcountry Crab Cake for lunch or go ahead and treat yourself to dinner and enjoy our Land & Sea offerings that include Filet Mignon with Vidalia Bourbon Demi or our Crab Stuffed Grouper. Not to be missed on Sundays, our Brunch is a delicious treat with our famous Almond Brioche French Toast! We look forward to welcoming you for your delicious experience soon!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Taste of the "Old South"”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautiful setting for lunch at The Beaufort Inn, a lovingly restored older home. The popovers are better than any I have eaten elsewhere and the she crab soup is outstanding. The four of us had a variety of luncheon items and all of us were very pleased. We arrived around 11:30am so everything was fresh, the small dining room was immaculate as were the restrooms. Not sure about the problem an earlier reviewer mentioned about the door to the kitchen. Our experience was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ozarkgal0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    47
    26
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
766 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Nice touch on a wedding anniversary weekend”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Being our 7th year anniversary in the town in which we met, our second dinner meal every here with the 1st being some 8 years ago, we really enjoyed ourselves. We dined late so we closed the place down, service was very nice. Food fresh, crisp and tasty. Heavy on the bread.. as the puff pastry bread was a meal in itself and the Ceasar Salad had two rather large cornbread helpings.

The entree was rather small in size/quantity as was the crabcake appetizer I ordered as my entree. It was more like a tapas than a larger sized appetizer helping. Prices were pretty fair so all in all a rather pleasant experience.

SaleebScore Food: 8/10, Service: 9/10, Atmosphere was a 10/10.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My friend and I had afternoon tea and it was great! Generous portions and very tasty. Three kinds of tea sandwiches, fruit and cheese, pastries and scones with clotted cream and jam. Don't have lunch before hand -- we didn't and we still couldn't finish everything!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Superb cuisine”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The chef is a wonder. Highly recommend this restaurant for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Every dish we tried was delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West H artford CT
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I wish the kitchen door that faces the hall to the dining room wasn't filthy from top to bottom. I wish the wait staff were better. The food was adequate but not special. I wouldn't eat here again, mostly because the filthy door was a big turn off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank karengaillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Graces Bistro also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing