We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's beautiful and peaceful - with paid parking”

Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park
Ranked #2 of 61 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's beautiful and peaceful - with paid parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've lived here a year, but still enjoy visiting this beautiful park whenever I'm uptown (that's what the "Bay Street" area is called). We'll have lunch at one of the restaurants on Bay St. and then stroll along the water or sit in one of the wooden (squeeky) swings. There is also a playground at the far end toward the bridge, which my 4y.o. son absolutely loves - it even has a public restroom (with a changing table for babies).

The thing is, you have to pay for parking via meters along Bay St. or use pay machines if you park in one of the lots (and put the receipt on your dashboard)... Sometimes the meters will be paid for by the local business on holiday weekends (not the lots, just the street meters), but that makes it harder to find a spot because people will be parked for longer... If you park in one of those lots, 15min = $0.25, and no change is given if you use cash, so have quarters ready or just swipe a card - yes, they take credit cards at the machines. The meters become free after 6p.m. because many of the stores close at 5p.m., so it's mainly for the restaurants and the park visitors... take advantage of this if you want to see a beautiful sunset while at the park - and flying a kite is great here because it's windy most of the time, just watch out for the higher trees.

I'd reccommend parking at the lot at the end of Charles Street, the one near the Marina, because it usually has the most spots available and you're not having to parallel park on the main street. Or you can park at the playground lot because it's near the only public restroom (unless you go into a restaurant, but that's frowned upon if not a patron). To get to the playground lot, go the very end of Bay Street (east), take a right, and then the very next right into the lot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    134
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NL, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Quaint place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just a strolling along and see the sites and sounds of the area. Very pretty place, well maintained. Keep up the good work.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sun_fun47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Sit and Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice breeze, beautiful boats in the water, a clean park, people strolling by, and swinging benches. How much more relaxed can you get?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmcgg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had a picnic lunch here. It is a lovely park with lots of green space, swings, and a great view of the water. Don't miss Waterfront Park if you get to visit Beaufort!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely dog-friendly park area with walkway along harbor and bench-swings facing harbor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Waterfront Park in Beaufort is one of the many charms of this small town. During our visit, my dog and I walked along the waterfront each morning to enjoy the view of the boats in the harbor. The park is very clean and well-maintained, and I felt safe there (no scary people hanging about).

The Waterfront Park consists of a long stretch of the waterfront with a nice wide walkway along it, and contains a very nice playground, a number of bench swings facing the water, a shaded pavilion, and large grassy areas with benches and other landscaping. Dog poop pick-up bags and cans are in various locations throughout the park, and people appear to use them. The park contains a marina and a boat landing with floating dock which also functions as a dingy dock for boats at anchor. Public restrooms are located near the playground and the marina office, and paid parking is at the end of the park farthest from the bridge.

The park is dog-friendly - there's even a dog-level water fountain at the end of the park near the boat landing. Historic carriage rides also start at this end. (We recommend Southurn Rose Carriage Rides - they were awesome.) A number of restaurants look out over the park, and the shops of Bay Street are one street over. Bravo to Beaufort for preserving its waterfront for public enjoyment and keeping it so nice and inviting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Labnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing