We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views,”
Review of Q on Bay

Q on Bay
Ranked #16 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Phone: 843-525-7771
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views,”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The view out on the deck is wonderful! Enjoyed some cocktails and tried the BBQ. I found the BBQ a bit to smokey but some like it like that. Friendly staff. Decent prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dhkmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    239
    120
    49
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother - there are better places to eat”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a disappointment and a waste of money. My mother was in town and wanted BBQ. We got there about 7:30 pm and I ordered the BBQ pulled pork platter. She asked me what sides I wanted and I said a baked potato. She then informed me that they were out of potatoes (at 7:30? really???). So then I changed my order to the veggies and pasta. She told me that they were out of pasta. Really? I then went back to the pulled pork platter and ordered steamed veggies (yellow squash & zucchini) and mac & cheese. The steamed veggies were saturated in butter/oil with ZERO taste and my pulled pork was ice cold. My mother ordered the brisket, french fries and coleslaw. Her brisket was lukewarm and was completely absent of flavor. Won't make the mistake of going here again.

Our server was just ok. She never told us her name, showed up a few times, didn't refill any of our drinks and waited til we paid the check til she offered us a to-go box (took the bland meat home to my dogs - they'll eat anything!!)

I tried this place for the 1st time 7 months ago for my birthday dinner...ordered a mid-rare burger and it came out super well-done and dry. Turns out that they BAKE their burgers in the oven...how is it possible that they can ever come out with the right temp?


Don't wait your time or money...there are better places to eat in Beaufort. As my mother visiting from Connecticut said - "There are better BBQ places in CT!!"

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Italyanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice water view, good selection of craft beers”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Took my out of town son here for a view of the river, a good beer and a nice lunch. The bartender is very knowledgable about the local beers, the view on the outside covered patin is great and the food can be good or bad depending on your selection. Stay with the BBQ and it will be very good. After all, it is a bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocHarrisHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely pass on this one...”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Ordered pulled pork sandwich and homecut fries. Pork was in very large chunks and had fat mixed in. Sauces were on the table. I chose the tomato based sauce, which is usually my preference over mustard or vinegar sauces.... Disgusting! Fries were very oily...would probably have been good if oil was fresh. We ordered the ribs also. Again, not good! They seemed to haves been prepared with no rub or flavor. Sauce was poured on at the end, not basted or cooked/baked on. It smelled really good from the street and waterfront and the reviews were okay on Trip Advisor, so we took a shot. Wish we had saved our $! I didn't even eat more than three bites of my sandwich...just couldn't choke it down. The waitress never asked how our food was.
One more note...eat inside unless you like dogs. Dogs are allowed everywhere in downtown Beaufort. Actually they may even be allowed inside? There were at least 4 or 5 on the outdoor porch where we ate. I just don't think it's sanitary! But if you have and love dogs, you are the majority on Bay Street...they are everywhere!

Helpful?
1 Thank LifeofRiley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food, small portions, lack luster service”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The food here was okay. The back patio atmosphere over looking the water and location off the main strip makes this place worthwhile. We ordered pork sliders with baked beans and the turkey sandwich with macaroni and cheese. Small portions, definitely leaves room for dessert somewhere else. The other waitresses we saw working appeared to be attentive and friendly, our waitress seemed a bit preoccupied. She served our food and never came back to see how it was or if we needed anything. After we paid the bill she never came back with change until she saw us sitting there for 15 minutes and realized we weren't giving her a $10 tip and yes we did need change.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Mattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q on Bay also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Q on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing