We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE IT!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q on Bay

Q on Bay
Ranked #14 of 160 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone: 843-525-7771
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE IT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great food....love the wings (they are smoked) and the salads are fabulous. BBQ is just alright! Service is good and the views overlooking the water make for a beautiful dining experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRIV19771984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    219
    115
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
1,217 reviews
799 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,678 helpful votes
“Good Service, Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Q on Bay is a casual restaurant specializes in barbecue and sandwiches. Its interior is fairly spartan and the deck overlooking the Beaufort River, weather permitting, is the place to sit. This restaurant was formerly Kathleen's; it changed owners and focus a little more than a year ago. Having eaten at Kathleen's about three years ago, it is our sense that the change was not for the better. My wife had a Portobello mushroom sandwich and collard greens, while I had a pulled pork sandwich with coldslaw. My sandwich was decent enough but my wife's left much to be desired. On a positive note, Q on Bay offered a large selection of beer. I don't think I would return to this restaurant unless I just wanted to drink. Perhaps I'll wait a few more years to see if it changes hands again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Ashley was swamped when we came in but still pleasant and helpful. the Mac and cheese was almost as good as grandma's!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelMSosebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What happened??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

First time we stopped here we had such a great time and great food and service, and the owner was present and shared about how the restaurant came about. This last will be our last time. Was completely and totally snubbed by a bartender who was more concerned about texting than serving. When we tried to ask to order we were made to feel as though we were an imposition. It was a Saturday night and there we only a handful of patrons so had to believe this is not the first time a customer has been made to feel like an inconvenience and chose to never return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Owner at Q on Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
As one of the owners I would like to first of all apologize for your unpleasant & inexcuseable experience in our restaurant. Especially after such an excellent original visit. I have personally handled the situation and assure you that you will not have a similar experience again. Obviously, i never want to hear anyone refuse to come back to enjoy our establishment and woould like to encourage you to come back and ask for myself (Jason), or my business partner Chris and introduce yourself and allow us to buy you a drink and apologize in person. Again I deeply apologize for your experience at Q on Bay, and hope you will take me up on my offer to apologize in person.

Thank You

Jason Bailey
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“food on the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Spouse and I had a late lunch: Brunswick stew, broccoli soup, sliders and a salad with pulled pork. Tasty and fresh food, would return again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RB27Nov2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q on Bay also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Q on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing