We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Review Highlights
The Best Way to See Beaufort

Janet's walking tour of Beaufort was outstanding. We were two couples who wanted to appreciate the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
ArtieTep
,
Huntley, Illinois
Do not miss this in Beaufort

If you're visiting Beaufort, Janet's Walking Tour is a must. She is very knowledgeable and quite... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Mike D
,
Montgomery, Alabama
Read all 257 reviews
  
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
252
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
252
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two hours fantastic walking wear comfortable shoes beautiful town great stories wealth of information historic beaufort anglican church she loves a lot of fun civil war history tour a hoot antebellum homes south carolina matlock historian
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 257 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

When you find yourself in Beaufolrt SC and want to soak up the local history, get in touch with Janet's walking tour of Beaufort.....formerly John Sharpe's tour.

Janet is a lot of fun and has lots of good information.

Get in touch with her via her website and book a tour. Well worth it!!

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank mkb468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were in Beaufort for two days in April, driving up the coast to the Outer Banks. I had checked Jon Sharp out on Tripadvisor before we arrived, and I have to say that I agree with everybody else - his tour is excellent. Jon arrived here, according to his website and his own admission, as a shipwrecked New York State Yankee; he is a former Hollywood actor who came ashore in a Coast Guard rescue helicopter in February 1992 and "soon fell under the spell of Beaufort's natural beauty, her people, and her history." He turned out to be a passionate, poetic, informative, and colorful guide to this beautiful and storied city, showing us details we never would have noticed ourselves. He also apparently knows everybody in Beaufort by name. When we toured the churchyard of St. Helena's Episcopal Church, he pointed out the graves of young women and children and of confederate officers as if he had known them personally. We found out why some of the ceilings we saw had been painted blue (to deceive the wasps and the mud daubers into thinking it was the sky so they would not build their nests there), and why some of them had been painted black (to keep away the "haints" which the African Americans brought with them). And thanks to Jon, I now know what "tabby" is. Absolutely fascinating. Even if you are in Beaufort for a single day, his tour is worth your time.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time with Jon on his walking tour. He was prompt, informed, entertaining, and kept a steady pace while being engaging with all the guests. Since he mentioned he plans on retiring the middle of may, we were fortunate to be able to take this great tour. Many of the locals even stopped to stay hi to Jon as he is very personable. He has great stories and respect for the patriots of history. The time flew by and we were wishing for more stories. This tour started and ended at the marina where there are plenty of eateries so you can catch a bite before or after or get ice cream to cool off:) Thanks Jon and best of luck in retirement!

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

He is a character. This tour is as much about Jon as it is Beaufort, which is actually a good thing since he is so entertaining. A very good walking tour that is more like a one man play. We learned a lot about Beaufort and it's history. We'll worth the $25 per person.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Jon is a delight. Not only does he know every inch of history in this gorgeous little town, he marvels at every tree and flower that passes along the way. You will meander the streets as Jon tells the most animated stories about Beaufort. You will be inspired by his enthusiasm for life. And you will have an absolute ball! Jon is retiring in May, so if you are planning an upcoming trip to Beaufort, I would recommend you schedule it sooner rather than later. Jon is an expert storyteller, and his tour is not to be missed!

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank AngieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews