We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, just right!”
Review of Athenian Gardens

Athenian Gardens
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not fancy, just right!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Located near the Beaufort Memorial Hospital complex, you could drive right by and miss Athenian Gardens. But I know where it is and keep coming back! Good food, good service and good value. Unpretentious but tasteful. There is a "specials" board with choices that don't seem to change very much. That's OK because the choices are good! There is a permanent menu as well. If you aren't sure about Greek cuisine, you really can't go wrong with choices like herbed chicken, pot roast or pork loin. My go-to favorite is the gyro platter. Pair your main course with an included Greek or garden salad, and finish with a complimentary Greek dessert. I'm getting hungry!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dbjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    29
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My sister and I ate here and we both pleasantly surprised by how good it was. The service was top notch and the food was great. If you're looking for real Greek good that is prepared on site, then this is your place. Be sure and get the Baklava!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!! So good!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a little hole in the wall building but the food is delicious! Everything we tried was well cooked and seasoned perfectly. Chicken kabobs were our #1 favorite. The Thursday night specials of Eggplant Parm and meat pie were delicious. The desserts (I won't even attempt to spell them but we had both) were fabulous. If you have any interest in trying Greek food or having good Greek food you MUST go here. As a little side note, the waiter and "mama" (the owner/cook) carried on quite a bit. We didnt know we were getting dinner and a show! Also go early because they will shut the door if they get close to running out of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always great food and service at this little gem!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you like authentic Greek food you will love this place. We take out a lot because it's always busy for supper and it is small but it is so worth it. The owner passed and his son has kept this place alive by doing it his father's way. Great food, great service. I am very partial to the Greek Salad w/Gyro meat and my wife adores the Grape Leaves, but be assured we've tried almost everything on the menu at one time or another and it's been great. Keep up the great work!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaParatrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Gyros, Desserts, and Salads Oh My”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is our once every 6-8 week restaurant of choice. Incredible Gyro meat, amazing homemade desserts, and Salads that taste hand-picked and chopped. We get the same thing almost everytime and we are yet to be even remotely mislead. The owners are personable and the dining is comforting.

Dan

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HullLikeABoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athenian Gardens also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Athenian Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing