We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Grouper I've ever had”
Review of Nippy's Fish - CLOSED

Nippy's Fish
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Hand pattied burgers, fish, shrimp tacos and Moe's Shrimp Dogs. Live music in the evenings on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Beer and wine.
Balsam, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Freshest Grouper I've ever had”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had lunch here recently for the first time with a friend who recommended it. It was excellent. The grouper sandwich I ordered was the best I've ever had. It was obviously right from the sea, cooked perfectly and accompanied by wonderful and unique fries and very good slaw. Service was good and location was convenient, I liked the laid back atmosphere with the outdoor tables in the shade.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNC_SavyTrav'ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eat With The Locals!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a great place for a quick bite for lunch. It has outdoor seating with live entertainment. The atmosphere is relaxed & family friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Casual outdoor dining in the heart of Beaufort”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Do not be dismayed by their location in a bank parking lot. If you are a lover of freshly cooked, delightlfully seasoned seafood, I encourage you to try Nippys. We saw Nippys while on a carriage tour of Beaufort and decided to try it for lunch. We arrived on the back end of the lunch rush. Service was friendly and fast; food hot and tasty. My husband had the special, shrimp po boy, and said it was great. My fish tacos were very good as well. The fries were thin - not my preference - but still good. While we weren't there for cornhole or live music, I can see where that would be a popular activity in this outdoor venue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
370 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good locals spot”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a restaurant where you would not stop unless it was recommended to you. It is located in a parking lot with only a few inside seats. We ate there twice and had the shrimp basket and the shrimp poboy. Both were delicious. The food is very reasonable priced and the service is good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food/atmosphere...sometimes slower service...but just enjoy the wait!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fun place in the heart of downtown Beaufort! Great for people watching, a cold drink, hot seafood, corn hole games and often, live music!!! Mostly outdoor dining and a local favorite!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BEAUFORTTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nippy's Fish also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing