We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An eclectic hotel in a historic surrounding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An eclectic hotel in a historic surrounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Okay! Let me first say Beaufort is a Gem in the south, a must visit. The charm of the city is unbelievable. Now let's talk about City Loft Hotel. From the outside it doesn't jump out at you; actually if you blink you may miss it, but don't. First thing you will notice when you go to check in is the staff. These people are some of the friendliest, and dedicated hotel staff I have ever met. As you are being escorted to your room by one of the staff you will probable wonder what kind of place have I gotten myself into; but once your room door is opened you will go Wow! this is amazing, very modern well appointed, and clean, very very clean. Comfortable beds, and nice big showers with modern overhead showerheads. The best thing is you can bring your four legged best friend. Located in downtown Beaufort you can walk to any of the many nice restaurants, or go take a carriage ride, and see where some of the best movies of our time were made. In the morning go to the front of the hotel, and have a wonderful cup of coffee, and a muffin. Most important enjoy your stay, relax,You'll live longer. we will always recommend to our family, and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    95
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
108
514
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Everything about this place was great from start to finish. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly young man who escorted us to the desk and then to our room. The room itself was clean and with great amenities like the soaking tub and the huge walk in shower. Very close to everything in Beaufort. I found this place last minute because we just got a dog. This will be my go to place in Beaufort from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodman5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beaufort itself is magical, and the City Loft Hotel is the best place to call home base while enjoying it. The staff was so top notch that we never wanted for anything they couldn't provide. Also, if you are a disabled person like me, they offer a room with a very usable bathroom with hand rails and a built-in shower seat. I was very impressed.... and comfortable! Thank you, City Loft, for making our weekend there a fabulous one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I highly recommend the City Loft Hotel due to its location, amenities, friendly staff, and dog-friendliness. My husband, our dog, and I stayed in a room with a king-sized bed, and the bed was amazing -- larger than king-sized and extremely comfortable. The bathroom had a shower with glass surround and soaking tub (and even a flat-screen television). Although the room was small, it was quite comfortable. We enjoyed having breakfast from Low Country Produce (across the street) at the table and chairs outside our room.

City Loft is right in the heart of Beaufort on Carteret Street, and an easy walk to restaurants, shops, the Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park, the Beaufort Visitor Center, and beautiful historic neighborhoods with 700-year-old live oaks draped in Spanish moss. A walk in almost any direction leads past well-kept antebellum homes to a view of the water and marsh.

Although City Loft has a weight limit for dogs, the manager gave us permission to bring our 60-pound lab, and we saw several other dogs there who were clearly over the weight limit. But we didn't hear barking during our stay and wouldn't have known the other dogs were there had we not seen them coming and going. There was nothing "doggy"-smelling or looking about the place.

Parking was limited, but it was never a problem for us. The work-out room looked very nice, but I didn't get a chance to use it. We didn't take advantage of the free coffee because we got our breakfasts across the street at Low Country Produce instead, but it was nice to have that option if we just wanted coffee.

I loved being able to stay in a nice, modern hotel, with modern-hotel type amenities, in a historic section of town. We stayed three nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We loved Beaufort and found the City Loft to be the perfect home base for our exploration of the town and surrounding area. We intend to return when we can and plan to stay at City Loft again.

Room Tip: Our first-floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

First floor room was musty. Floor felt damp. There had been a good bit of rain over last few days. Dog in nearby room was whiny. Got quiet after owners got back to the room. We still recommend City Lofts. This was just not a great night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
500 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the City Loft Hotel. Although the rooms are small, they are well designed, very comfortable, clean, and with a great bathroom, tub, and shower. The staff is pleasant and helpful and the location is perfect for exploring Beaufort. Vouchers for free coffee and bedtime cookies were an added treat. Directly across the street is a great spot for breakfast & lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent value. The rooms are tastefully refurbished . Bed comfortable, soaking tub wonderful with large shower with multiple jets. Even turn down bedding, complete with delicious cookies!
The location is walking distance to all of Bay Street and various restaurants along the river. Staff courteous and caring. Great Market Cafe across the street with local products.. Overall, this 2 night stay was 5 star!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipflopsinsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 21 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing