We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean Comfy and in a beautiful part of Beaufort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Clean Comfy and in a beautiful part of Beaufort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I always like staying at the City Loft. It's really easy to find and easy to stay. The staff is very friendly and the coffee shop that is attached is a nice little treat. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are top notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trataj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review of City Loft Hotel. We really appreciate our guests comments and love to hear that you had such a great experience. I am also so happy to hear that you enjoyed City Java & News. Not only do we have the very best coffee in Beaufort, but it's a fun place to watch the locals as well. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    92
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
504
42
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!! I have stayed at many of the B&B's in Beaufort, as well as the chain hotels on the outskirts of town, and City Loft fits the perfect niche. It is VERY affordable in comparison to the boutique hotels downtown, yet has the perfect location to walk to the restaurants and shops all along the water. The bed reminded me of the "heavenly" style beds at Westin's, the bathroom was huge and the shower was like a spa! It also has the amenities like a great little gym and coffee shop on-site that is nicer than most of the other chain hotel properties. I had the pleasure of meeting the family that owns the property, and will most definitely make this my #1 choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1989Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. Some boutique hotels are so 'trendy' that they are uncomfortable. Not so with this hotel! The decor is fresh and contemporary but also very comfy. Cookies on our pillow and a bottle of red wine in our room after a long day of work was the 'welcome home' that we needed. My husband loved the big tub (he's 6'4") and we both enjoyed the coffee shop downstairs. Fantastic coffee. Walking distance to all of the cool shops and restaurants. This is the only place to stay in Beaufort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a fantastic property! This hotel is a gem. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. The bed was so comfortable that I woke up late and couldn't believe how well I slept. The coffee shop is great and the staff is exceptional. There are lots of good restuarants and shops within walking distance. As it's in the heart of Beaufort, this is defintely the place to stay. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wonderfully restored hotel, fantastic bathrooms and showers, good linens and pillows. Accessible, friendly owner. Excellent location that puts you in the middle of this charming town with everything walkable including multiple excellent restaurants. Free bicycles are a great way to see even more of the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location, great shower, tastefully decorated. Nice coffee shop downstairs. In town for a few days to play golf - great conveniences with restaurants nearby. I travel often and typically cannot wait to leave the hotel after a few days - not so with this great spot. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KAK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We only stayed 1 night for a Marine graduation. It is in a very good location, nice room, a little small. The bathroom is large and very modern. Stephanie toured our room personally with us (not sure we needed it though). Nice touch. Very comfortable. Wish we could have stayed in the area longer. We ate at Wren, across the street. Very convenient and great food! Hubby had a free coffee from the coffee shop along with a purchased pastry. He loved it. I didn't visit. Would definitely stay again! Priced a little on the high side though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wackyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 23 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing