We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Complete Surprise”
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Complete Surprise”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband planned a trip to Beaufort and HHI for my birthday. What a wonderful surprise to see a fully restored 1950ish motel turned into a sleek, contemporary hotel with every amenities anyone could ask for. Charlotte greeted us warmly and gave us a tour of the gym and our room. Each room is decorated with HGTV in mind. The bed was luxurious and the bathroom was tiled beautifully with a separate soaking tub and a giant glass shower. This was the perfect base to explore Beaufort; the hotel is located two blocks from "downtown." We rode complimentary bikes one morning and everyone was friendly and smiling as we rode by. I would highly recommend the City Loft Hotel for it's attention to detail, caring staff and location. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirlamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your fantastic review of City Loft Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that our staff took good care of you. You can't beat the location and the bikes are a great way to get around town. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    103
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
114
550
47
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had the good fortune of staying at the City Loft Hotel while in Beaufort for a few days of golf. The hotel is a great addition to the Beaufort scene and will only continue to improve as Matt completes the final design. Convenient to restaurants, great rooms and a very friendly and accommodating staff. We'll definitely stay there again. Great job, Matt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moeman652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel! Thank you for your review and your compliments. We have unique property and it's great to hear that you are planning a return visit. It will be a pleasure to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very nice hotel, conveniently located. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It is obvious that the design and room plan was well thought out. Have previously stayed at the Beaufort Inn, would definitely choose City Loft again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great place and location. We got the one suite that they offer -- which is really two rooms. One slightly small and with a shower only. But its a totally separate room. So, it was like having two rooms for the price of one and a half. The smaller room is set up like an office. The pull out sleeper/couch is fantastic and they had it all made up and ready for us to climb into bed.

Room Tip: no coffee pots in room. no breakfast but there is a nice little cafe downstairs and you get a coupo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of City Loft Hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our Suite. It's a great retreat for family and friends at the end of a good day taking in the sights of Beaufort. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Delightfully friendly and accommodating staff. Perfect location with easy walks to shopping, dining, and attractions. Nice clean room. Good coffee and pastry. What more could I want? A poster child for good repurposing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was so pleased we picked this hotel, thanks to all the good reviews from Tripadvisor. You did not let me down! City Loft is a little quaint hotel in the midst of Historic Downtown Beaufort. It has the service of a Ritz Carlton at the prices we can all afford. They exceeded our expectations.

When we arrived after a long drive to attend our son’s graduation at Parris Island – about 6:30am, and check in was at 3pm, they let us in anyway. The owner (I think she was the owner) escorted us to our room, after she inspected it to ensure it was cleaned and ready to be occupied.

During our stay, we had to get ice for our cooler. We didn’t need to get this ourselves. We called the front, they came down, took our cooler, filled it up, and brought it back. Now, that is service! In the room every day, there are bottles of water and cookies! A very welcomed touch. They recommended great places to eat, had a wonderful bed and nice towels and toiletries.
I will come back again. A great find!

For dinner - Saltus Riverside Grille – a recommendation by the hotel – very very good. Dinner along the water under lights and trees. Great food and wine! Great service. A definite if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had stayed at the City Loft Hotel a couple of months prior, and we very pleased with the staff, accommodations, etc. We brought our 40 lb dog with us on this stay as well. We can't say enough positive about the City Loft. The staff was more than accommodating trying to arrange our various rooms, and our needs. The staff is always positive, pleasant, and goes above and beyond what we needed at the time of reservation. Our rooms were perfect for each of the different couples. The beds are heaven, and I can't say enough good things about the beds, mattresses, linens, etc. It is so comfortable you never want to leave. The bath tub is fabulous, and very deep and comfortable. It also has a large walk in shower that is second to none. It is large, and the rain showers head on the shower is simply divine. The room decor is absolutely stunning, and so much fun. Everything you need is close by including coffee shops, restaurants, shopping, and anything else you can think of to make your trip perfect. The staff will go out of their way to help you with anything you need. I would highly recommend this hotel to just about anyone. Thank you for another wonderful trip. We hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
720 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 21 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing