We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Hunting Island State Park
Ranked #2 of 61 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park that is a large secluded barrier island with a historic 1859 lighthouse as its centerpiece.
Horicon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfect for kids young and old. For 8$ you can bring in a t-shirt to print different sea creatures on it in the Nature Station. Great hands on learning for kids in the Nature Station as well. Beach was nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    333
    67
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Market, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"This is the best place EVER!".....Bella.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

There were some cancellations and we were able to move up to a beach front tent site. Forgot until the last second that these sites are "primitive" and don't have electricity but still the sites closeness to the beach made it perfect and I wouldn't have traded it for anything! Didn't need the fan anyway. The sound of the ocean lulled me to sleep. Definitely less bugs at these sites. The constant breeze kept them away. Perfect day at the beach! The camp store had everything you would ever need and stays open late. Ranger Rambo and his crew were all very helpful. Loved seeing the raccoons. (Lock your food up.) On a very serious note, the rip tides are ALWAYS strong on Hunting Island so be very aware of that. Keep a close eye on your children. Even strong swimmers should read up on how to survive a rip tide. The current can and will pick you up even when you can touch the bottom. Just be aware and plan ahead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

One of the most interesting places we have visited. Palm trees growing right up to the beach. Neat lighthouse you can climb. Great hiking trails. Just bring lots of bug spray, and I mean lots of it. Nice beach, particularly at low tide. We stayed in a hotel in Beaufort area and drove to the park. Have camped in the campground twice. Nice campground, but the bugs are bad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful state park!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed the day at this state park. Beware that the gate fee is $5/adult and $3/child over 5. I personally thought that was steep. Anyhow we had hoped to grill our meals but were also informed at the gate that they no longer have frills available. The lighthouse climb was relatively easy but cost an additional $2 to climb. Great information on each of the 9 levels. We enjoyed the beach for several hours and although busy weren't extremely crowded. My husband enjoyed fishing off the pier as well. On our way out in the evening we spotted a couple of racoons and a fox. Excellent day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMiss04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful day at the beach!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

On a recent trip to South Carolina, we spent a few days in the Beaufort/Port Royal area and went to Hunting Island State Park. This beach is definitely worth a visit. The grounds are lush and tropical, the beach is lovely and large, and the state park includes a beautiful light house. There is also a fishing pier and boardwalk into a salt marsh across the street. The state Park has a small shop that sells a few items and ice cream, so bring your own picnic lunch with you. The beach is great fun to walk, goes on forever, and appears very safe. We observed state park staff on ATV's touring up and down the beach to ensure everyone's safety. There's lot's of room so that you can easily find your own private place to set up, or park your self in a busier area if you're a people watcher. I highly receommend a visit to this state park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank celebrity1Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunting Island State Park also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hunting Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing