We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little island”

Hunting Island State Park
Ranked #1 of 61 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park that is a large secluded barrier island with a historic 1859 lighthouse as its centerpiece.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little island”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stopped at Hunting Island to go shelling, as I had read online that the shelling is supposed to be great there. We found some shells, nothing too crazy, but the island itself is so quaint and naturally beautiful. We got caught in a rainstorm there which added to the excitement, and were the only people to stick around through the storm, so we had the island to ourselves. We missed getting to tour the lighthouse, but we really enjoyed the atmosphere of this beautiful unspoiled little island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    335
    67
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Camping”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We love to go camping at Hunting Island, our favorite spot is the primitive spots. Its close to the beach, hiking trails, and the light house

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach in the world!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This beach was beautiful! No crowds and a really cool lighthouse to climb. A true treasure of South Carolina.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a beautiful spot, and dog friendly”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

this is a gem of a place. A beautiful beach, clean restrooms, a cool lighthouse to explore and great walking tours, but after march bring the bug spray as the mosquito's on the trails can be brutal

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Fun, adventure, wooded”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you want a more woodsy, outdoors, and good fishing vacation, go here! Awesome place. Love love love it and go back every year several times. Do your shopping on your way in though!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FisherMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunting Island State Park also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hunting Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing