We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Hunting Island Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 61 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The only public lighthouse in South Carolina.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fee to enter lighthouse, should be free in my opionion but guess the state looks for ways to make money, oh well the lighthouse is a must see and walk up to the top.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank safetynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    136
    28
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Lighthouses.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We came just before the Memorial day weekend. It was not crowded at all. We spent our time at the exhibits and chatting with the guides. When we got to the top the view and breeze were delightful. Since there were very few visitors, we snuck a little sitting time to enjoy the view. NICE!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderingyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“View from the Top”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The view at the top is worth the climb. I'm afraid of heights so it takes me a while to get up the steps and out on the platform, but its so beautiful at the top, you just can't resist looking over the park at the beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fun walk and exploration. Enjoy an ice cream after! Walk is a little hard if you are out of shape, but well worth the view!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FisherMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful lighthouse”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This lighthouse is on Hunting Island, one of the barrier islands of South Carolina. It is quite impressive and tall. For a small fee one can take the spiral staircase inside up for some great views of the island including the beach and trees. The spiral staircase is itself quite beautiful. If I remember correctly there are 167 steps going up and 167 steps coming down :) There are landings on the way up so you can take a break in your climbing up and down. Be aware that babies are not allowed inside the lighthouse so make arrangements for your small children's care.
There are also exhibits outside on the lighthouse grounds and also a souvenir shop and restrooms close by. Enjoy your time at the lighthouse, the only one open to the public in South Carolina.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happyvacationer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunting Island Lighthouse also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hunting Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing