We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend at Beaulieu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaulieu House at Cat Island
Ranked #4 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend at Beaulieu”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great Weekend ... we visited the Beaulieu Bed & Breakfast on Cat Island for the 1st time this weekend. Our weekend was a great get away as we enjoyed Beaufort's Shrimp Festival, it's historic charm and our stay at the Inn. Beaulieu was full with a very nice group of guests and the Inn Keeper was a very gracious hostess who made everyone feel welcome and glad they came!

The Beaulieu Bed & Breakfast is a located on a very scenic low country marsh and river and enjoys an excellent location for dining in downtwon Beaufort ... we'll be back!

Tommy & Carol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Oct 3-5th, 2012 we stayed in room #3 at the Beaulieu house. What a lovely setting at the end of the road overlooking the water. Very quiet and peaceful...great place to take your bikes and ride around. If you are a photographer the birds gather at night in the trees behind a nearby golf club. Deer everywhere along the roads and in yards in the evenings (careful driving!). Diann is a great hostess. Her home is filled with all sorts of original art and collectibles. The inn is also within easy driving to Port Royal (Dockside is a great place to eat!) with a few stores to brose and a nice little walking trail (near the firestation) that goes around a cypress swamp. We took the walk about 5:30 and noticed that the herons and other shore birds were flying in there. Within an hour or so there were at least a thousand or more birds perching in the trees in the center. It is also about 20 minutes from Hunting Island State Park....awesome beach in it's natural, undeveloped state. Breakfasts were very tasty and filling...made fresh by Diann. Our room comfortable and homey....with a balcony to enjoy the views of the sunrise. A keeper on our list of great places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogolovestheswamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beautiful situation - right on the creek. While very quiet and peaceful, the location is convenient for Hunting Island, Beaufort and surroundings. Diann was a gregarious host. Her various 'collections' are unique. We enjoyed the conversations at the communal breakfasts and will never forget the 'Wake up Bread and Butter Pudding'

Room Tip: Waterside rooms are probably best.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thedeberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our stay was perfect. The view from the balcony is lovely. We saw dolphins at breakfast, which was delicious both days. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable. Diann made us feel right at home, and had many good suggestions for us. The location is convenient to Beaufort and Port Royal. Couldn't have asked for anything more!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Island, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a nice, quiet, quaint B&B in Beaufort (Cat Island). It's convenient to Beaufort, Port Royal, and surrounding areas. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfasts were awesomely done by the inn keepers with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, and French toast. The inn keepers were very quick to … read morerespond to any problems there or questions about the area. The downside was in the wording of the website. We originally booked the carriage house suite because it stated it had views of the river and golf course. This was not entirely true. The view of the river was only possible when sitting on the veranda of the suite and hampered by the main house on the right, the detached two suites on the left, and a roof line connecting them over the back porch. The golf course is now somewhat obstructed due to 2 new structures that are being built. Not a huge deal, but we were expecting what the website had said. So upon seeing this on check-in, we wondered if one of the rooms on the back of the house (definite river view there) was available, no such luck. This is where I have to praise the inn keepers for making things happen. Jeff wanted our stay to be special and even though we said it would be ok to stay in the carriage house, he made a phone call to the owner and convinced her to let us stay in one of the detached suites on the river. These suites (or at least the suite we stayed in was slated to be a monthly rental) had all of the things we were looking for- a full kitchen, private entrance, and a screened in porch right on the river with rocking chairs. My hat is off to Jeff and Melanie for making this quite an enjoyable stay for us both. Because of them I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is heading to Beaufort, but does not want to be directly in the mix of things. It’s close enough, but nice and quiet. If we head to Beaufort again for a stay, I’m definitely going to stay here again. Now though, I’m reserving room #3 (awesome porch facing river with hammock).

Room Tip: Room number 3 is probably the best view of the river while relaxing in a hammock on private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surf_Monkeys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Once again we had a great time at the Beaulieu House. The view is fabulous, the people are wonderful and it is quiet and relaxing. I go there as often as possible to rejuvenate and have fun. If you go back you feel as though you are returning home. Diann, the owner, treats you as though her house is yours. The location on Cat Island is perfect. You are close to Hunting Island beach, downtown restaurants and art galleries and still have the peaceful feeling looking at the water.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a balcony opening on the water are great. Try one with a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I arrived in the afternoon in time for ice tea with the owner Diann. Very interesting and charming lady, we had a great conversation. I found the B&B to be very clean and well maintained. My room was large, comfortable and very quiet. I slept very well and was very refreshed the next day. The owner filled me in on all the local attractions and gave me good directions. My breakfast was delicious. I plan to return again when in this area and would highly recommend to my friends and others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboyRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
4.7 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
4.7 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaulieu House at Cat Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaulieu House at Cat Island

Property: Beaulieu House at Cat Island
Address: 3 Sheffield Ct, Beaufort, SC 29907-1724
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Intracoastal Waterway just five minutes from the historic district of Beaufort, South Carolina, between Savannah, Charleston and Hilton Head. This beautiful inn is perfect for exploring Beaufort, Hunting Island State Park, Cat Island, Port Royal and the Sea Islands. Air-conditioned accommodations boast bold and tropical Caribbean color schemes and feature lowcountry verandas with golf and/or river views. Stay in a main house guest rooms or carriage house suite with a double Jacuzzi, shower, kitchenette and private entrance. The Beaulieu House is a pet-friendly inn. Savor a complete gourmet breakfast served common-board in the River Room overlooking Chowan Creek and St. Helena's Island. Afternoon refreshments are served upon request on the veranda. The adjacent Sanctuary Golf Club has a newly rebuilt 18-hole championship golf course and an Olympic-size swimming pool. Looking for an pleasant day browsing local art galleries and boutiques or an adventurous day hiking, biking and kayaking, Beaulieu House at Cat Island has the perfect accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beaulieu House at Cat Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaulieu House At Cat Island Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing