We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed nostalgia”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
VA BCH, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed nostalgia”
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I spent 3 days in mid April stepping back to another place in time at the Cuthbert House Inn. My suite was very private and quiet...and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, the room inviting and peaceful. I fell in love with the experience and really felt a sense of sadness when leaving...like leaving your grandmother's house. I felt pampered with freshened ice every day, wine and snacks at 5 on the veranda, a chaise on which to read or nap in the afternoon, a garden in which to sit and contemplate, a lovely cooked breakfast beautifully served (personal changes honored) with great coffee ready in the morning to enjoy in the little garden room with the morning paper or later in the dining room with breakfast. . The staff and our hosts, Jeff and Maryann, were the perfect blend of being available and invisible. They were friendly and informative and added to the feeling of welcome. We received friends in the magnificent sitting room after a dinner in one of the local restaurants. It was a great pleasure to have such a warm and homelike place to extend an enjoyable evening for quiet conversation. I wanted to "hold on" to the Cuthbert House experience as long as I could. I'll be back and am telling everyone I know about this place. It is like a secret you want to share with good friends. Virginia Beach, VA

  • Liked — The beauty, orderliness and service made the stay most enjoyable.
  • Disliked — There were no negatives.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaKitKat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    49
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
401
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pomona, ny
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Came down for a wedding. The Inn is beautiful, rooms spacious and very comfortable, great views of the water, lovely verandas to sit and sip wine or ice tea "on the house." The proprietors were extremely helpful, and gracious. In a lovely location, we could have stayed for weeks, instead of only three days. Also a wonderful breakfast each morning with fresh fruit, juice, and goodies like eggs, grits, french toast, etc. The nicest bed and breakfast I've ever been to.

  • Liked — beautiful comfortable house and gracious hosts
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We spent three nights at the Cuthbert House Inn in Beaufort, SC. Our hosts, Jeff and MaryAnn, were gracious and welcoming, and our room was VERY elegant. The bed was comfortable, the ambiance in the entire house was just delightful. We were celebrating our 13th wedding anniversary, and all the arrangements we wanted for flowers and champagne were handled exactly as we wanted them. Jeff and Mary Ann made further dinner reservations for us, and we found their recommendations to be accurate. The breakfasts were very good, served nicely in a lovely room. The evening wine and snacks time was very pleasant. Our hosts joined us, and made everyone feel welcome. We truly felt like guests, and we will return.

  • Liked — The suite we had was elegrant and comfortable
  • Disliked — We had to check out and return home.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at the Cuthbert Inn. The historic house overlooks the water and we enjoyed sitting on the large front balcony facing the boats. The dining and living room are wonderfully furnished and there was a lovely sun room which was great for reading. Our room, with a separate outside entrance from the courtyard, was large and the bathroom was huge. Our host Mary Ann was pleasant and most helpful . She supplied a great selection of appetizers and drinks at the evening social hour where there was interesting conversation with the various guests. The location is a real plus as we loved walking to restaurants, shopping and around Beaufort's old neighborhoods. When we return to Beaufort, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, historic house
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadawalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

As we were leaving the Cuthbert House, we told Jeff the innkeeper that it was the nicest stay we'd ever had at an inn, and we were not embellishing. I am utterly perplexed by anyone who was less than thrilled with the Cuthbert House.

Lodging:
We stayed two nights in April and could not have loved it more. The inn is lovely but not stuffy. Our room -- the Ballroom -- was gorgeous and huge! The bed was comfortable and the shower and tub were great.
The porches and views are wonderful. We even saw dolpins in the water, right from the front porch. My husband sat on the second floor porch watching the sunset and said it is a moment he'll never forget.

Food:
Breakfast was done one for each person, rather than the buffet food at other places. The social hour was nice with snacks and freshly made iced tea for us, and wine for those who wanted it.

Service:
Jeff is a genuinely nice man who took an interest in talking with us about the inn at the social hour, at breakfast, and as we returned from town. TWe were not unique in this attention, as we saw him with otehrs as well. He gave us suggestions as to what to do and even gave us beach chairs and towels to use for our trip to Hunting Island State Park. He made us feel welcome.

Overall:
We looked around and the Cuthbert House has the best location, without a doubt, as well as the charm and peaceful feeling that truly is Beaufort. We will be back.

  • Liked — The view, the beautiful rooms, and the innkeepers
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coupleoftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

After reading some of the other reviews I almost wonder if we stayed at the same place. We were offered a quick glass of wine and dinner suggestions but the owners seemed preoccupied--no conversation or history! And as for breakfast, we were told when we could come as the other times were taken( there are only 7 rooms and several small tables in the breakfast room). With the time assignment we were expecting some wonderful "cooked to order" breakfast but got 2 pieces of lukewarm french toast and 2 small sausage. Our room was pretty but we could hear the man in the next room snoring so loudly that he sounded like he was in our bed!

  • Liked — Pretty antiques and public rooms
  • Disliked — stairs, thin walls, breakfasr
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank biglily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baywatcher, owners at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2007
We are very sorry that "Big Lil" was disappointed in her stay with us. We, Mary Ann and Jeff go to great lengths to give our guests a pleasant, relaxing and memorable stay. We are always willing and anxious to share the history of this beautiful home. We always aim to please and warm our plates in the oven to ensure they are warm. This is a 200 year old home with 12 inch thick plasterwalls. No one has ever complained in the past of hearing another guest snoring.
Our check in times are between 3:30 and 6:00. We have a wonderful social hour from 5 to 6 which usually lasts until at least 6:30. I believe this guest was a late check in.When guests check in late we are as accomodating as possible but we do have to make dinner for ourselves and get some down time so we can be up the next day at 5:30!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up in Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Aside from its antebellum history and charm, what attracted us initially was a website photo of the dining room with separate breakfast tables. On arrival, however, we found this little amenity to be just one of a thousand charms. The greatest of these was the outrageously warm hospitality of the hosts, Jeff and Mary Ann, a pair of corporate-world dropouts who share a keenly honed sense of good customer service. Did they offer wine to the guests each evening? Sure, along with marvelous homemade hors d'oeuvres. Far more important: They also took genuine pleasure in joining the guests for a social hour that quickly got past "where-are-you-from" and on to intelligent, stimulating conversations. This place is not only charming, it attracts intelligent, educated, interesting guests. Oh, yes, the rooms: spacious, well renovated, comfortable, beautifully furnished. The breakfasts are excellent and are served to suit guests' schedules and tastes. The location is waterfront, within 5 walking minutes of Beaufort's entire downtown and at least five excellent restaurants. We liked it so much, we extended our stay and most certainly plan to return. This B&B is worth a trip to Beaufort all by itself.

  • Liked — Hospitality, other guests, breakfast, comfort, charm, furnishings (in no particular order)
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TAWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Property: Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing