We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet taste of charm!”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

There is so much I liked about this place. It was very charming and located close to downtown Historic Beaufort. I highly recommend staying at this lovely bed and breakfast. The view from our room was fabulous. The room was spacious and very clean. I was very impressed by the decor and small touches that added to the experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
There are newer reviews for Cuthbert House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 595 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location on the water. Sunsets are just wonderful. Great innkeepers and beautiful house. Yummy breakfast. I recommend Saltus River Grill for dinner. Take a carriage tour or a walking tour. Lots of history in Beaufort.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarolinagirl29455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Cuthbert house is a wonderful B&B and we (my wife and I) are not fans of B&Bs. The house itself is lovely with a storied history. We stayed upstairs in the Federal room which has a very nice balcony to enjoy. Everything in the house is set up for a wonderful relaxing stay. They have you reserve a time for breakfast which we thought was awesome, and when served it was excellent. Owners are very nice folks. Would highly recommend Cuthbert house.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Spence50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cuthbert House Inn for three nights and had an amazing time. The inn is within walking distance to the great town restaurants and sights. We stayed in one of the ground-floor rooms which had a wonderful patio with a view of the bay. The room had a mini-kitchen which allowed us to make early-morning coffee and prepare our own lunches. The breakfast was very good and included a variety of fruit, eggs, and pastry dishes. We liked it so much that we made another reservation prior to leaving increasing our stay to four days.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the Inn have the better views of the bay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasd196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed for four nights following visits to Chicago and Las Vegas and really appreciated the slower pace and more civilized existence that Beaufort and Cuthbert House offered. Beautifully furnished in traditional style with huge, comfortable beds (don't fall out it's a long way down to the floor!) and lots of options to just sit, enjoy the surroundings and chill out. The Inn overlooks the riverfront and relaxing on the verandah is great. A different, freshly cooked breakfast was offered each morning and coffee was available 24 hours.
A very nice touch was the convivial hour each day when guests were entertained by the owners of the Inn and invited to meet each other and talk about what they had been doing, where was good to eat and other hints and tips about the area.
We'd certainly go back.

Room Tip: East Lake Suite is very spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNWTravellingLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed one night in 3rd floor ballroom. The room is spacious with a comfortable king bed, flat screen TV and refrigerator/freezer. The shower is a bit narrow, but was fine for me. I wish I had time to use the claw foot tub! I enjoyed reading about the history of the house. Breakfast was pecan waffles and they were very good. Thank you to the staff for being very nice and accommodating!

Room Tip: The top floor ballroom suite is quiet and spacious with shared access to balcony on the front of the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtngirl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Cuthbert House Inn. First the great things about this Inn: The bed was nice and comfortable, the bathroom had an incredibly large shower with duel heads (very luxurious), the Inn was very clean and welcoming, the owners were friendly, the location was within an easy walk to lots of shopping, restaurants, and parks. The negatives weren't that bad, I think we just have a very high expectations of B&B's. When we arrived, we weren't properly greeted and were immediately asked for our credit card to run the remaining balance, the room was a lot smaller than expected, the porch was a long shared porch, and the pictures kind of made it look private (fyi there were tons of private seating around the garden area), breakfast was good, just not as plentiful as other B&Bs. This B&B had many rooms, and it appeared they were doing more renovations to add more rooms. With all the guest, it had more of a small hotel vibe and less of a quaint B&B vibe. However, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Oaks room has a fantastic shower, no door on the toilet closet though.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wm49555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: $202 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing