We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Inn”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Historic Inn”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Cuthbert House Inn is full of historic charm; it is in a fabulous bay-front location and is within easy walking distance of restaurants, stores, carriage rides, and walking tours. The Inn is the ideal place to stay if you are planning a trip to Beaufort; we parked the car in their parking lot and never moved it until we got ready to leave.

Our room was super clean and spacious with a private bath, queen bed, 2 wingback chairs, a flat screen TV with digital cable, and wine glasses, corkscrew, and a mini-refrigerator for convenience. Morning breakfast and dining area was very nice with windows overlooking the bay.

The public areas of the house are also beautifully decorated; the house has a wonderful veranda and 2nd story porch overlooking the bay, a beautifully decorated patio with hard-scaping, a water feature, benches and bistro tables, as well as lovely manicured grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    49
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
408
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Cuthbert House Inn but wish we had more time to enjoy the wonderful Southern hospitality. The owners, Jeff and Mary Ann, are excellent hosts. Our room was off of a lovely and peaceful back courtyard garden. The room was huge with a queen bed, desk, armchair and footstool in a classic blue / white china pattern with yellow walls. Very fitting of the historical character of the house. Our room had a large bathroom which also included the coffee / tea supplies and refrigerator. On the desk, they provide free small bottles of water and some helpful brochures about Beaufort. The room was very clean (although don't look too closely at the artificial plants in the wall pots -- lots of dust) and a pleasant place to rest after a long day of sight seeing. Also, thankfully, there was a can of bug spray for your use as the mosquitos are persistant. They are only a couple of blocks from the waterfront and they provide ample parking in the back of the house. The parking is not well marked (that we noticed) and we drove around the block a couple of times trying to find the entrance. The house has a fabulous veranda overlooking the bay and the public areas of the house are beautiful. Breakfast was tasty and filling and Jeff provided entertaining service. We would stay here again if we have the chance to return to Beaufort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southerntlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Cuthbert is a beautiful 19th century home transformed into an absolutely charming first class property. The accommodations are fabulous. Our room (Ballroom 3) was beautifully appointed. Best of all the people especially the innkeepers are warm, welcoming and fun! Cuthbert House is fabulous for decompression, good conversation and romance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My girlfriend from Beverly Hills, Ca and myself, from South Carolina, visited the Cuthbert House in March of this year for 2 nights. The house is gorgeous!! It is truly the grandeur of the deep South. Beautifully appointed amenties and funishing in every area of the home from the public areas to the very comfortable rooms. You can tell that Jeff, the owner, truly loves his home and wants to please. The afternoon Cocktail hour was lovely and the walking tour that "Jon Sharpe" does in town is incredible. You can see what the town has to offer in a couple of days. We enjoyed our visit. Happy Travels!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our stay at Cuthbert House was amazing! The staff was fantastic and extremely helpful. The house is absolutely amazing, with one of the few true water front views in downtown Beaufort. The delightful social hours and delicious breakfasts were the icing on the cake! This B&B gets my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: The difference in cost between a regular room and a suite isn't much, so especially if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed two nights in this well-kept period property and could not find fault. The room was beautifully maintained and the 5pm-6pm cheese & wine event was a marvellous addition to our experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondMikeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I recently had a three night stay at the Cuthbert House Inn in route south. Could have happily stayed another night. Lovely, convenient accommodations. The breakfasts and afternoon get togethers were an added treat. The Innkeepers were friendly and helpful. I will certainly tell our friends of the charm of the Inn and the area.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Property: Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing