We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Wonderful - A Little Ragged Around the Edges”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here one night in a Cozy Queen room in the Carriage House. The bed was a beautiful antique reproduction and the mattress was extremely comfortable. Although some of the other furniture in our room had seen better days and there were a few maintenance issues, overall, it was a good value and just one block away from the scenic bayfront section of Old Beaufort. The owners would be wise to invest in an ice machine for guests as we had to find someone and ask each time we wanted some.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturalbeauty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

Clean, comfortable and just filled every want beautifully!! I would recommend it for anyone. The breakfast was lovely and totally gourmet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

On February 13, 2010, our daughter got married in Beaufort, SC. Our wedding party filled the entire Inn and 2 others near by. It was the most wonderful stay for us and for those who were lucky enough to get in the Inn. The owners and staff became family to us. There was not one thing overlooked and they went out of their way to make the weekend flawless. Every whim was fulfilled for all of us and each time with a smile. The night of the rehearsal dinner, it snowed and the power was off for a while. Poor Mitch was up half the night letting all of the young people into their rooms, but he was there for them, especially the bride a groom. I never go to our place at Fripp Island without stopping in just to say hello.
We just spent this past weekend at the Beaufort Inn again. It was the same, wonderful experience. Nothing was left undone. It is the perfect place to stay in Beaufort.
Southern Graces operates out of the Beaufort Inn as Event Planners and the chef does a southern morning breakfast for the guests. It is wonderful as is lunch everyday and the grand brunch on Sunday. They did our wedding rehearsal dinner, bridesmaids luncheon and wedding dinner for 250 guests. People who weren't even there are still talking about it because those who were have talked about how wonderful it was. It was beautiful and the most elegant event, ever. Even the snow was a delight since it never snows in Beaufort.
I recommend the Inn and Southern Graces whole heartedly. They are the BEST and I love them all. Oh, and our daughter's photo is somewhere in here in her gown.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 493bettyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We spent one night at this beautiful inn and wish we had more time to stay another night or two. They were very helpful with information about the area and places to eat dinner. The room was very nice and spacious. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch off our room and reading in the late afternoon. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed talking with other guests at refreshment time in afternoon and at breakfast. We hope to return someday to spend more time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmaChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The Beaufort Inn was a charming place to stay. It was a perfect example of southern hospitality. The room we stayed in was immaculate. I felt like I was home. The staff was exellent from the reservation call thru checkout. The food at "Southern Graces" restaurant was excellent also. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raponzel0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Our family and friends all stayed at the Beaufort Inn for our son's wedding weekend. The rooms there are beautiful and the staff was so pleasant and helpful. We had a variety of different room needs which were all well accommodated. The breakfast service and evening desserts were so yummy and presented in a lovely way. Southern Graces at the Beaufort Inn catered our dinner party following the rehearsal and did an amazing job. The food was delicious and the setting could not have been more beautiful. Of course God provided for us the perfect weather, and the happiest bride and groom to complete a wonderful evening. We had a lot of small children and they loved playing on the lovely lawn in the Tabby Garden. Thanks to Mitch, Julie, Bethany, the fabulous chef, and staff for a great experience.

Suggestions for improvement are only a few. Some of our rooms had old TVs and the Masters golf junkies would have appreciated upgraded TV. Many rooms did have that but our cottage did not. Also some of the rooms were dark so better lighting would have been nice. Internet reception was weak in some areas but I understand they are working on that now.

All in all, a wonderful experience. Our family and friends are planning a trip back to celebrate the 1st anniversary....minus the bride & groom this time!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

my wife and i recently celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and decided to visit coastal florida, georgia and south carolina. we stayed at historic inns at jacksonville beach, fl, jekyll island,ga, st simons island,ga and beautiful beaufort ,south carolina. we both agreed that had we visited the beaufort inn first instead of last, we would have cancelld our reservations at the other locations and would have stayed in beaufort for our entire 8 day trip.
the accomodations at the beaufort inn were just wonderful. we stayed at one of the cottages adjacent to the main inn. the cottage had a large king-sized bedroom and a second queen-sized bedroom and a very, very large bathroom. the rocking chairs on the front porch was where we could be found having our morning coffee and our evening glass of wine. the location was very quiet and restful and we caught up on some much needed rest and relaxation.
the inn itself is very beautiful with a crystal chandelier hanging over a beautifully ornate wooden spiral staircase. every area of the inn that we viewed was just beautiful and spotless. the grounds and courtyard were well kept and the flowers and shrubs were in full bloom, just gorgeous.
the morning southern-style breakfast was delicious and quite filling with plenty of eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes , juices and coffee and pastries to go around. as a bonus, the inn had a wonderful lunch menu which was very complete and had anything one could ask for and was as equally delicious as the breakfast.
and of course, the innkeepers, julie and mitch were very accomodating, engaging and friendly. it was obvious that they loved their job and were always available to answer and address any of our questions.
we certainly recommend the beautiful beaufort inn and plan to visit there again. we won't wait for another anniversary to do so. we expect that we'll visit again real soon.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank coach851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 16 in Beaufort
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $144 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing