We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Bed & Breakfast Resot”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely Bed & Breakfast Resot”
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My daughter and I booked this room for my husband and I, plus her and 3 grandkids. Initially, we booked a 2 bedroom cottage, but upon arrival they upgraded us to the loft apartment across the street from the Inn. WOW is our best description. A 2/3 bedroom unit of about 1,300 sq. ft. with full kitchen, lovely antique decorating, wide screen TV in living room, TV's in 2 of the other bedrooms, and great views. The best part, no extra charges for the upgrade. The only thing missing was a porch, which I had wanted for my husband who smoked. The staff is outstanding and want to make sure you are well taken care of. Dinner at the Inn was also outstanding, but may be a bit pricy for some. They didn't mind that we only ordered 3 dinners for ourselves and split them up with the kids (no sharing charge either). The Inn is right in town and you can walk to everything. There is a lovely outdoor courtyard with tables to enjoy the evening. From what we could see, some of the other units also looked very nice. If you're going to Beaufort, definitely consider the Inn.

  • Liked — Size for the family.
  • Disliked — No porch for husband who smoker.
  • Tips/Secrets — At least try one meal at the Inn.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blamarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    185
    64
    19
    15
See reviews for
174
680
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2006

My husband and I had an enjoyable stay at the Beaufort Inn on our way home from a Florida visit. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The amenities at the Inn are very good and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The evening meal at the Inn was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 18, 2006

I stayed at the Beaufort Inn for two nights on business, and I was incredibly impressed by the staff most of all. Not only was the actual hotel beautiful, but every member of the staff was kind and generous throughout the entire stay. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the hotel is right in downtown Beaufort close to many different places. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2006

We have visited The Beaufort Inn before so chose it for our 50th. wedding anniversary. The dinner was wonderful, excellent service and food. Our room was spacious and the fireplace was welcome as it was cool. We noticed the upkeep, which must be tremendous, was not keeping up with slight problems and were disappointed...ie mildew in the bathroom, peeling paint on the ceilings and trim molding. We had booked the Romance package and even though we had an e mail confirming this, we had to ask for adjustments to our bill as we were charged for our dinner and breakfast and did not receive the carriage tour. There were profuse apologies when we brought this to the attention of the manager but this should not have happened. It was a good experience but not as good as it was when we last visited, two years ago. We would recommend this bed and breakfast but check your bills carefully so that you get what you have paid for, and it is not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gatorcroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 17, 2005

The room was very quaint and clean. The restuarant was delicious! The staff was very nice and considerate.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2005

We stayed at the Beaufort Inn for two nights earlier this month. It was wonderful. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is lovely. We had a charming room with a comfortable bed. We would stay there again in an instant if we were in the area.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank alanspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2005

Spent one night in the rain in this lovely Inn. The room was cozy and I sat on the veranda and watched a wedding and reception under a tent in the back. It was so beautiful. The employees had that sweet southern hospitality style. I enjoyed my stay and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Property: The Beaufort Inn
Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing