We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best B&B in Beaufort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Beaufort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Last year we discovered this historic B&B and fell in love with its history and charm. This time we stayed in a newly renovated cottage that was just lovely. We took advantage of the Southern front porch and the gracious courtyard. The breakfast each day was scrumptious, especially the french toast which tasted like bread pudding with a coffee cake topping! The staff was most accommodating and informative. Housekeeping did a great job keeping everything clean. And the black and white cat that came by to greet us every morning was the friendliest little cat we've seen in ages. Guess we'll have to come visit here again next year!

Thanks, folks for making our stay so delightful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverspirit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    173
    56
    16
    12
See reviews for
157
634
33
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

WWe enjoyed two nights here during the Beaufort Water Festival. It is located in a very quaint, historic house - right down to the wallpaper everywhere. The staff was great, the inn charming, clean, and comfortable. We received complimentary hot breakfast tickets each morning. The one dinner we had was different and very good. There are seating areas to gather in located throughout, including a great courtyard to come back and relax in. Also walking distance to restaurants and the waterfront. The only drawback was the air conditioning on the 3rd floor did not work very well and the room stayed a little warm until well into the night. But this did not hamper sleeping. And it is July in SC, so temps are very high. We do plan to return but will try one of the cottages next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C; cottages open on courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at The Beaufort Inn in South Carolina as a halfway point between Florida and a visit to my sister's in North Carolina. Beaufort is about 30 minutes drive off of I-95, and well worth it rather than staying in one of the sterile hotels along I-95. We stayed one night.

There are many options of rooms to choose from. We chose one of the Garden Studio Queen rooms. Though the Inn states on their website that this is best for one person, there is plenty of room for two people with a queen size bed. The cottage is a separate structure from the mainhouse and more private, which appealed to us. There is a very nice large brick patio between the houses sheltered by oak trees. A nice little porch off the front of our room with chairs and table was perfect for sharing a bottle of wine before we walked to our dinner reservation.

The Inn is located right in the historic region of Beaufort, so walking everywhere downtown is easy. They are a five minute walk to the park and waterfront. Beaufort itself is an extremely charming, arty town and not too full of tourists as say, nearby Savannah. We ate at an excellent little restaurant a 5 minute walk from the Inn called Wren Bistro and Bar, one of the dining options recommended by the folks at the Beaufort Inn.

They also have an excellent chef right at the Beaufort Inn, and you can make reservations to eat there for dinner. We had our complimentary breakfast prepared by him which was awesome! Very upscale breakfast that I can't even begin to name all the wonderful foods offered, and the chef will prepare omelets for you as well as what is ready made. All the food was exquisite!

The only reason that I didn't give the Inn 5 stars was because of some unpleasant noise around 2 a.m. that came from the folks staying in the room above us. They arrived back at the room at that late hour and continued to stay up, walking around and moving chairs on the wood floors was extremely loud and disturbing. It interrupted our sleep for about an hour until they finally went to bed. So, I might suggest requesting the upper floor at least at the Garden Studio Queen room building if it's available.

We would definitely go back again and stay at Beaufort Inn(upstairs in the Garden Studio!) We'd like to hang out in Beaufort for more than one day and explore the area or just hang out on the porch at the Inn. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We enjoyed many wonderful dinners and the occasional stay at the Beaufort Inn when we lived in the Beaufort area years ago, to include staying at the Inn on our wedding night eleven years ago. We were recently visiting family in the area and spent a night at the Inn as an early anniversary celebration. We stayed in a cottage king unit, which was lovely! Well appointed with a huge bath tub, vaulted ceilings and a great second floor balcony that caught the summer breeze off the Beaufort river. We also enjoyed a sumptuous dinner at the Inn during our stay. Across the board, highly recommended. If you want to enjoy true Southern hospitality, look no further!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaCouple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Inn is beautiful, recently remodeled and well thought out and one of the Best & Most Beautiful Properties out there. The quality of the construction and maintenance of the Inn is a 10. Hats off to whoever did the work and supervised the work and design. The whole Inn is so well done. Decoration and furniture matches the 1800's theme. Has all the charm of the 1800's with the convenience of the 21st Century.

Location is great being just off the main street (BAY) by a block which makes it easy for restaurants, shopping and the waterfront.

Breakfast was amazing with made-to-order eggs, to-die-for french toast, grits (good even if you don't like grits), bacon, fresh fruits, baked goods, juices, coffee. Excellent!

People are nice but not overly friendly---very professional. Their afternoon refreshment is iced tea and cookies bits.

Room Tip: Many have balconies, but ALL the rooms I saw were excellent. I would doubt there was a bad choice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonRSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent two nights at the beautiful Beaufort Inn. This was our first trip to Beaufort, but it won't be our last. This was the most comfortable and relaxing trip we have ever had. The location was very convenient and we enjoyed walking all around the area, visiting all of the shops and particularly spending a lot of time sitting at the Waterfront. The entire staff was superb and we enjoyed conversations with Chef Hewitt. The food and dining service at dinner and breakfast was outstanding. We anxiously await a return visit.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor with the use of the stairway. We particularly enjoyed the separate sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larryrowe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us the cottage suite for my birthday. Beautiful spacious room w/ King size bed, that felt like a cloud. Massive en suite that was a room all to itself. Loved seating in the garden in the evening enjoying a nice glass of wine. The Inn itself is a Southern classic charm. Everyone from the receptionist to the wait staff was hospitable and delightful. Thank you for making this a most relaxing birthday I've had in a while.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10aCGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you to your husband for choosing The Beaufort Inn for your birthday celebration! It was certainly our pleasure to play a part in making your birthday visit memorable. You most likely stayed in our Chisholm Cottage, a private Luxury King accommodation that adjoins the Palmetto Courtyard. This room like others is full of historic charm as well as offering modern appointments. This juxtaposition makes our accommodations special and unique. And our courtyards beckon guests to enjoy a slower more gentle pace. At night strings of lights make the courtyards and gardens glow. As you discovered, it is so inviting and magical! I do hope you will return - you do not have to wait for another celebration to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Property: The Beaufort Inn
Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing