We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaufort quick trip”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Wonderful rooms. We stayed in the newly open Sherper house behind the main building. Very close to the downtown and waterfront. We walked everywhere with our 3 year old. He enjoyed it too. The only draw back wasn't the inn it was the lack of good seafood. We found a couple of good more expensive restaurants but by in large good fresh seafood was surprisingly hard to find. We assumed it would be easy in a coastal town.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMoose72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hi MaggieMoose72!,
It is so wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Beaufort Inn! The Scheper House with its four accommodations is one of our newest offerings. The rooms are beautifully decorated with spacious bathrooms, porches and rocking chairs. As you mentioned everything is within walking distance. Although Beaufort has some terrific restaurants, many of them serving fresh seafood - I have found that there are several alternative seafood restaurants just outside of town - The Dockside in Port Royal and Lady's Island serves fresh caught seafood (they have the best crab cakes I've ever tasted!), The Shrimp Shack on St. Helena's Island near Hunting Island is a favorite (it is where I experienced my first shrimp burger!). These require you to drive; however, they are worth the trip! I hope you will make a return visit and give them a try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have stayed here in 2013 and again returning in 2014. This Inn is exelent for accommodation and location. You can either stay in the main building or garden cottages or one of the suites that we were upgraded to free of charge on arrival this year. The breakfast chef is exelent always providing a varied choice to start your day of, look for his grits and various fried breads in the morning. The Inn is situated one street back from the main street Bay Street so you are down in the main area in two or three minutes.We have yet to try the Inn's own restaurant at night as we prefer to get out and about, but from what we hear their restaurant is exelent too.

Room Tip: We have stayed in one of the garden cottages and the suite which has a shared balcony with the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear JohnM,
Thank you for your review of The Beaufort Inn and especially that you've chosen to stay with us two years in a row! We hope you will visit again in 2015! Whenever possible we upgrade repeat guests. Since all of the 34 rooms are unique in their decor and offer guests different experiences - some have private porches, others overlook courtyards and many have spacious bathrooms with claw foot deep soaking tubs - we like to give guests the opportunity to enjoy these amenities. When you return don't miss the opportunity for dinner at Southern Graces Bistro. Chef Hewitt offers traditional cuisine with a southern twist. He is an accomplished chef (he was Sous Chef for Bobby Flay) and makes dinner a memorable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Beaufort Inn for the second time for 2 nights in June. As with our first visit, everything about our stay was amazing. We stated in the Greyhound Flats, perfectly sized for a family with teenagers and with cool enough decor to appeal to them too. The location of the Beaufort Inn is perfect- no need to drive with shops, restaurants and the waterfront within less than a block although the Inn itself is on a quiet street. The front porch and zen garden are both perfect places to sit and enjoy the iced tea and refreshments offered each afternoon. The staff are huge assets to the inn. The receptionist, Ashley, and the breakfast chef both remembered us from our previous visit last year and were delightful. When we had a problem with the cable to the tv in our room, Ashley went above and beyond what was required to get it repaired. At the amazing breakfast in the inn, when our kids said how much they had loved the French toast the previous year (the breakfast items are different every day) the chef changed his breakfast menu for the following day to make sure he made French toast for them. Just a perfect stay every time- thank you!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank reemsama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Beaufort Inn for the second time for 2 nights in June. As with our first visit, everything about our stay was amazing. We stated in the Greyhound Flats, perfectly sized for a family with teenagers and with cool enough decor to appeal to them too. The location of the Beaufort Inn is perfect- no need to drive with shops, restaurants and the waterfront within less than a block although the Inn itself is on a quiet street. The front porch and zen garden are both perfect places to sit and enjoy the iced tea and refreshments offered each afternoon. The staff are huge assets to the inn. The receptionist, Ashley, and the breakfast chef both remembered us from our previous visit last year and were delightful. When we had a problem with the cable to the tv in our room, Ashley went above and beyond what was required to get it repaired. At the amazing breakfast in the inn, when our kids said how much they had loved the French toast the previous year (the breakfast items are different every day) the chef changed his breakfast menu for the following day to make sure he made French toast for them. Just a perfect stay every time- thank you!

Hi Reemsama!

First, thank you for recognizing Ashley and the Bistro chef (most likely Knox) for their great service! Both of these staff members consistently go above and beyond to help guests, as do all members of The Beaufort Inn staff. I like to think it is a hallmark of our service - giving guests the best experience possible. The combination of a remarkable staff, a unique property and wonderful amenities creates an experience that guests deserve.

Next, I am so pleased you enjoyed the Greyhound Flats. I've stayed in one of these accommodations and also enjoyed the "offbeat" decor and spacious room, especially the amazing bathroom and shower. These rooms, as you stated, are perfect for families with children. We are now offering one of these rooms as "pet friendly". I appreciate your gracious review and hope you will visit again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

After having made reservations at the wrong Beaufort inn ( North Carolina) I went to the Beaufort Inn in South Carolina where they were extremely gracious and gave us a wonderful cottage and a complimentary bottle of red wine to ease our mind (and soul). You can't beat that! Charming, beautiful, well appointed, the type of place you want to return to again and again. You must stay there if you have the chance.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Designermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Designermaid,

I am so pleased you found your way to The Beaufort Inn in Beaufort, SC! Thank you for your very nice review and for acknowledging our efforts to "ease your mind (and soul)". If memory serves me this was a birthday surprise trip for your spouse? It was our pleasure to make it a memorable stay! I hope you will make a return trip soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our first trip to Beaufort was made even more enjoyable by our choice of The Beaufort Inn. Just as their brochure says you are welcomed with southern hospitality, the lush gardens, courtyards and relaxed atmosphere helped to make our mini-vacation most relaxing. After a day of site-seeing, we did enjoy the opportunity to wind down with afternoon refreshments before heading out for more fun. The location of the inn couldn't be better - everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: stay in the cottage king-wonderful view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ-Archer-Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Beaufort Inn just last weekend. I was pleasantly surprised with the location and ambience of the hotel. It's located just one street from the waterfront area which has quite a few restaurant choices and lots of good "people watching." The room we were given was a HUGE room with a king bed in the main hotel. Breakfast is not to be missed! A wonderful buffet that included creamy Southern grits, French toast and homemade scones. Delicious and a great start to the day. I loved all the quaint cobblestoned areas between the main hotel and the out buildings where you can sit with friends and have a drink or just talk. So charming.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the whole place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Gorgeous home and grounds. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was so cheerful and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again and will recommend anyone stopping in Beaufort to stay here. The breakfast was delicious every morning. Definitely a quiet, laid-back setting for those of you who enjoy peace and serenity. 1 block/ 5 min. walk to the downtown and another block to the waterfront. Really a great location. We went to the visitor right next door and walked on the pre-mapped route throughout the town of the historic homes. Y'all should do that too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 16 in Beaufort
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#10 of 16 in Beaufort
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 16 in Beaufort
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $152 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing