We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Beaufort Inn exceeded our expectations in every way. A little rain on the afternoon of our first day in this historic community and our spacious and comfortable quarters. Our breakfasts were exceptional. This was our first stay, and if we have our way, it won't be our only visit to this charming inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of The Beaufort Inn and for noticing our efforts to make your stay an exceptional experience. The Southern Graces Bistro chef-prepared hot southern buffet breakfast is a guest favorite and a great way to start the day! I do hope you will plan a return trip. Fall is beautiful and a great time for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Beaufort Inn is a beautiful property with lovely courtyards, wonderful staff and charming rooms. We loved the Garden courtyard situated at the back of the main house. Historic downtown is an easy walk from the Inn. Breakfast was delicious and the chef was most accommodating to our vegetarian diet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of The Beaufort Inn and sharing with others the many unique aspects of our property. Our historic setting, including the courtyards, porches, verandahs, gardens and excellent location offer guests many ways to enjoy and enhance their stay. I am pleased that you experienced and enjoyed much of what makes us special. I do hope you will plan a return trip, as there is always something wonderful happening at the Inn and in Beaufort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a wonderful get a way. The loft we were had was lovely, not a thing was omitted. Rooms were large,furniture was comfortable. I would recommend the Beaufort Inn to anyone wanting to spend some quality time in luxury with family and friends. Breakfast was great but never saw the advertised omelet station. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Top rate Bed&Breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for the review of your experience at The Beaufort Inn. The loft you mentioned, named Beauloft, is one of the many very special accommodations available to guests. With its' three sleeping rooms, two full bathrooms, living room, kitchen and dining area Beauloft is a favorite for large groups and families. I am so pleased that you noticed the many details and amenities that contributed to your comfortable stay and I do hope you will visit with us again. It will give us the opportunity to make good on the omelet station - a guest treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a large property that covers most of a block with multiple buildings. It's more of an inn or hotel than a B+B. But it's clean, comfortable and the buffet breakfasts are very good. The staff are helpful and accommodating. Given the location and amenities, I'd say it's a touch overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Guests of The Beaufort Inn, like you, are often pleasantly surprised to find that we are an historic boutique property very well located in Beaufort's Landmark Historic District. While our thirty-four well appointed rooms, courtyards, spa and restaurant do extend beyond what is typically a B&B, we strive of offer guests the personalized service and amenities that contribute to a memorable experience. And with many different room categories we offer guests the opportunity to match our accommodations to their travel needs and interests. Depending on the time of year, we offer promotional discounts and added amenities. No matter the type of accommodation, all guests of The Beaufort Inn experience a chef-prepared Southern style hot buffet breakfast, wi-fi, off street parking and an afternoon social hour. I do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed recently ... last minute booking so ended up with a third floor room. The good: Clean, great bed, hot water for the shower. The not so good: the room was so small it reminded me of an airport hotel in Japan. One chair, a cabinet for the clothes that pants would not hang in and a bathroom that was very small. Great night sleep and then went to breakfast which when checking in was told ... don't miss the fabulous breakfast. Arrived about mid-way in the breakfast window. The room was quaint ... breakfast was a buffet from two warming trays with coffee from a pump carefe like a chain hotel. The carafe was dirty and the coffee cold. The waitress brought warm coffee but never changed the carafe even after three of us told her it was cold and asked for hot coffee. The food and coffee were so bad, I passed on everything. My over all impression is they think that they are the only game in town so they can charge what they want for average "chain hotel" like accommodations, service and breakfast. This is not a B&B for those of us that truly like the concept.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocHarrisHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This Inn just reeks southern charm. There is a main inn and then other cottages and rooms off a brick walkway. Our rooms consisted of two kings with a private balcony for the two rooms. This was perfect for my sister and I as, we were traveling with our husbands. We loved sitting on our balcony, rocking in our rocking chairs, sipping the included bottle of wine.
The included breakfast was great. Omelets cooked to order, try the french toast. Although the staff appeared thin and overworked they never the less were friendly. We also ate dinner at the Inn. It was excellent. Nice quiet, intimate atmosphere.
It was an easy, flat walk to the waterfront and Bay St.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your review of your Beaufort Inn experience. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Guest are often surprised, yet very pleased to find that we are a 34 room Historic Boutique Inn with accommodations in eleven lovingly renovated and preserved buildings that are connected by brick pathways and surrounding four courtyards. From your description, you likely enjoyed our newest Luxury King accommodations in the Scheper House, a two story building complete with wide porches and comfy rockers to enjoy. The rooms in this house are spacious and beautifully appointed with elegant furnishings and Lowcountry photography. Our chef-prepared breakfast offered by Southern Graces Bistro is a guest favorite and not to be missed. Our staff works very hard to offer memorable service and I want you to know that just this week we added a new staff position - a Guest Concierge - to improve upon our efforts to deliver The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience. I do hope you will return to Beaufort and that you will again choose to stay with us at The Beaufort Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights here in one of the upstairs king garden rooms overlooking a peaceful courtyard just a few steps behind the main house of the inn. Our room was so comfortable and the vaulted ceilings and balcony increased the spacious feel. Management and staff, especially the self-appointed feline ambassador of good will, were friendly yet professional and genuinely interested in ensuring that their inn delivered everything it promised. The location was perfect too!

Room Tip: The web site has very good info and pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam Parnell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

I appreciate that you've taken the time the share with others your Beaufort Inn experience. The Garden Cottages are a guest favorite. I am so pleased you appreciated our attention to the room's details - the beautiful decor, spacious bathrooms with claw foot deep soaking tub and rain water shower and the intimate porches - that made your stay with us so special. And thank you for your compliments of our staff. We strive to deliver to every guest The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience! I do hope you will visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#10 of 15 in Beaufort
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $148 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing