We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and spacious”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This a lovely property right in the middle of Beaufort's historic district, within easy walking distance of fine shops and restaurants. There are several buildings separated by courtyards and we were in one the Port Republic cottages, facing the street of that name. It was very spacious and comfortable - a living room with a couch and two chairs, a large bath and a large bedroom (which could use one more chair).
The breakfasts were delightful - a buffet which included specially prepared dishes such as cream cheese/fruit bread pudding, fresh fruit, sweet buns, and bacon. They will also prepare eggs as you like them, including omelets.
The only reasons I give them four instead of five stars are that the staff, while very friendly and helpful, are sometimes not available to speak with because they are off helping another guest and there is only one person at the front desk. Also, our cottage was somewhat noisy due to large trucks rumbling down the narrow street, a plow grading a parking lot across the street and the very thin walls between the two units in the cottage building. I would advise staying in one of their other room selections, such as the garden cottages which are back off the street or maybe a suite in the main house, though I do not know if their walls are any more insulated.

Room Tip: For a quieter location, try the garden cottages or the other rooms near that back courtyard
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roamin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for the review of your experience at The Beaufort Inn. Our central location, in the heart of the historic district, is often a welcome surprise to guests. The convenience to shops, restaurants, art galleries and the award winning Waterfront Park is a real plus! Beaufort is a growing and often bustling community. Sometimes this progress breaks the quiet solitude that is the enjoyment of staying at The Beaufort Inn. We work hard to eliminate as much imposition on our guests as is possible and appreciate that you mentioned the Garden Cottages and inside courtyards as alternatives to the streetscape location of the Port Republic Cottages. A hallmark of our service is that we accompany every guest to their room. We don't want any guest to wait unnecessarily and are looking at our staffing model ensure that guests have a favorable check in experience. I do hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for The Beaufort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Staff very reliable and helpful. Breakfast was good. The chef made us feel like family. Room was very clean and bathtub was greatly appreciated. Will recommend it to friends and family. Quite city and you are at walking distance to the mait shopping strip. Small quite town. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvarotorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Staff very reliable and helpful. Breakfast was good. The chef made us feel like family. Room was very clean and bathtub was greatly appreciated. Will recommend it to friends and family. Quite city and you are at walking distance to the mait shopping strip. Small quite town. I enjoyed my stay.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you will recommend us to your friends and family! Beaufort is a wonderful town that is being discovered for all it offers - history, art, food, unique shops and of course, The Beaufort Inn, so conveniently located in the heart of the historic district. Please come back for a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Weather did not cooperate on and off rain but a nice location for a B&B. Nice size rooms with large bathroom. Comfortable bed, good wifi, average breakfast, 2 minute walk to town. Good parking and a nice Main Street to stroll. One minute to historic district and water front.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SMMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Beaufort Inn. You described so explicitly the amenities that make us a great choice for accommodations while visiting beautiful Beaufort - our Southern style chef prepared breakfast (a guest favorite), complimentary wi-fi and off street parking. As you mentioned we are conveniently located in the heart of the Historic District and close to shopping, art galleries, restaurants and the award winning Waterfront Park. The weather is warming. I hope you will make a return visit - Beaufort and The Beaufort Inn are beautiful in the Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had beautiful, clean rooms. Inn was very charming, beautiful decor. Rooms were good with great beds and cable an a balcony.
We rented bikes and toured the area with our children.
Breakfast was really good and people were very friendly.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

I am so pleased you noticed our attention to the details that make The Beaufort Inn a very special place! Our Guest Services and Room Attendant staff strive to make every guest's stay a positive and memorable experience and Southern Graces Bistro works their magic each morning offering our guests a yummy chef prepared Southern style breakfast. There is much to experience in Beaufort and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights at the Beaufort Inn. It's a very nice upscale facility, close to downtown and restaurants. The rooms are tastefully appointed and the staff is great. Unfortunately breakfast is a fiasco.
On our first morning they were running out of food a half hour before the service was to end. Second day all went well. Third day, totally understaffed. Guests stood in line for five minutes just to get a plate for the buffet. Coffee and juice ran out although it did eventually get replenished from the kitchen. The one person working breakfast was so embarrassed he finally stood in the middle of the dining room and apologized out loud to everyone. It wasn't his fault and he got a big round of applause at the end.

Our confirming email had promised a chef prepared breakfast and an omelette bar. No such thing. We were never offered an omelette. The chef prepared breakfast consisted of a buffet with the same three entrees every day, bacon, eggs of some variety and French toast. Boring!!!

It's a shame that breakfast ruined what could have been a nice experience because the inn certainly has the potential to be great. It simply didn't live up to expectation.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Robert54245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the Beaufort Inn, and overall we had a fabulous experience. Among the best parts were the charming grounds, the comfortable bed (and fantastic pillows -- I can't stop raving about the pillows!), the clean and spacious room, and the TV with Netflix hooked up! We were within walking distance to a number of charming local restaurants and a short drive from Hunting Island, where we climbed the lighthouse and marveled at the South Carolina coast. We would both highly recommend this inn to other couples looking for a romantic getaway!

A couple of things we would love to see improved at our next visit. First, the breakfast was tasty (as others have mentioned!), but Saturday morning the lone server was overwhelmed by the number of people coming and going and the rapidity with which the food disappeared when brought out; more staff to help with breakfast would be an improvement. We didn't go back the second day because we didn't want to stare down that scene again. Our room wasn't one with a soaking tub in the bathroom, despite ample (and I do mean AMPLE) extra space; we both wished that had been included in the recent remodel. Finally, a very small point, but the toilet paper was not in keeping with the luxurious surroundings. A simple and not-expensive item to upgrade.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was fantastic ! Great place to stay ! Room was just right and the bathroom was large....We were visiting family in Beaufort and we just wish we could have stayed longer. Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedwards_35803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,017 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $186 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing