We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Absolute Best”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I scheduled a last minute getaway with some friends to Beaufort, SC and stayed at The Beaufort Inn. It is one of the best Inns we've ever stayed in. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, great restaraunt suggestions and even made the reservations for us ahead of time. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, great bathrooms with huge tubs and showers, very nice patios/common areas to relax and mingle with guests and by far the best breakfast EVER! Made to order omlettes, French toast "bakes", fresh pastries, home-made granola bars, sausage and egg casseroles... did I say best breakfast EVER?!? There is even an adjacent Spa, but make reservations before you come just in case. We stayed in the Carriage House but they also have very quaint historic "cottages" that we are going to try next time....just because they look cool. The Inn is within walking distance to historic downtown, waterfront park, shops and restaraunts. There is a carriage tour within walking distance that points out all of the historical buildings and churches of Beaufort. Hunting Island Beach State park is a short distance away (15 mins) with great beaches, nature trails and you can climb the lighthouse. The Beaufort Inn is a great place to stay, we'll be coming back!

Room Tip: Carriage house rooms have great baths with claw foot tubs and huge showers. Cottages are quaint and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I reserved a garden cottage suite at Beaufort Inn the weekend of our wedding and it definitely didn’t disappoint! The staff were super sweet and accommodating, making sure our stay was perfect and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The beds were soo comfortable, but the best part to us was claw-foot soaking tub and rainwater massage showers. The Beaufort Inn is conveniently located downtown, but nestled quietly behind Bay Street. It’s a pleasurable and short walking distance to Beaufort’s restaurants, bars, and shops. If you’re in town the weekend before Thanksgiving, don’t miss out on home tours nearby at The Point for Homes for the Holidays-look into it online. Beaufort is ultra-charming and Beaufort Inn definitely encompasses that as well. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Loved the garden cottage suite. It's located behind the main house, with separate entry way thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovely-n-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This gorgeous Inn in located in the heart of Beaufort. There are some great bars/restaurants that are walking distance and the water front area and all the old churches and historical houses are steps away.

The service was exceptional and even when we had a slight problem at check in it was resolved quickly and efficiently. We stayed in one of the rooms in the cottage directly behind the main house. The room was great and the bathroom with its clawfoot tub and unbelievable massage and rain shower was very relaxed.

Hunting Island state park is only about 12 miles down the road and they have beaches there that are part of a State Park and so are not commercialized at all. There is also a beautiful lighthouse there.

The restaurant in the Inn was good but very quiet when we were there. Maybe a touch stuffy, but the food made up for that, everything we both had was excellent. If you are staying several nights, try a dinner at the Inn and eat out as well. There are some great places that are close!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrizzatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were delighted to return to your lovely Inn -- our room was charming, clean and very comfortable. As before, the breakfast was outstanding -- and we were happy to see that you offer dinner with wine pairings, too. The next time our travels take us your way, we will be sure to stay with you again!! Thank you............

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We got the package through TravelZoo and were very pleased. The Inn and Hosts are very inviting. The room was as comfortable as you can ask for. We really enjoyed the peaceful environment and the location was very central to the Historic District (everything in walking distance). The eating establishments and the waterfront were exceptional. The only negative was the chef and assistant seemed to be more attentive to delivery of food to the cottages and large groups at the main house. Couples at breakfast were often trying to get coffee or cups for coffee. On our last day of three, my wife ordered eggs from the chef and after approximately 20 minutes we cancelled the order because of other commitments. The chef was visible around the main dining room for only a couple minutes during our stay--the cook surfaces were there in the same area as the diners. Overall, the stay was excellent except for the "breakfast" portion as noted. However, just the opposite for Dinner at the Inn's Southern Graces Bistro. The food, presentation and service were top notch! All 5 Stars!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWATravelers1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Adorable but disapointing. Asked for a king got a queen. My fault hadn't checked the reservation.Asked for non smoking non pet room.Was told a PRIVATE porch for non smoker would be the best way to book...got a room with a window on a "community" porch. Had a wedding croud who smoked and drank and could have climbed into our room had the window been open.Which I would have liked to open but couldn't because of the shared porch!
First morning (Saturday) breafast was wonderful. Other than the chef..staff had attitude.
Had an omelet chef on the second morning who did not use gloves to put ingredients into the eggs. Had a bed in an alcove..so clostrvobic thought I would scream.
Tried to call front desk (when someone came in) and the girl was on a private call so I had to go downstairs with my question. She still didn't get off the phone.!!
Had food from the last visitor on the rug.
No one on premise after a certain hour.
Did i just have a bad day! The head front desk person on Saturday did try to help change the room ...couldn't. She offered us $25. off each night. A gesture. When we checked out she had to be asked to honnor that offer.
All in all..not great. Not even good.
Sorry Beaufort..you need to do better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappy12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Beaufort Inn is a beautiful, peaceful place to stay in a charming old Southern town. The Inn's rooms are elegant, spacious, and comfortable. The courtyard garden, with its fountain and live oaks, is lovely. The dining room, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, is superb. The chef is a wonder! We highly recommend the Beaufort Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 16 in Beaufort
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $143 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing