We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inept Management”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I left Fredericksburg, Virginia, December 27th heading back to our home in Florida. We planned a stop in Beaufort to visit our son who is a chef on the American Cruise Lines "Independence". We called ahead on the 26th and made a reservation for a late afternoon arrival on the 27th. We arrived, as planned, in Beaufort and called the hotel for final directions. After arriving and parking in front of the hotel we lugged our bags upstairs to the lobby where we were met by two of the staff and were told that the hotel was overbooked, a mistake one said, and just discovered, but overbooked nonetheless. We asked why had they not called us earlier in the day, since they had both our cell phone numbers, they told us not to worry as they had booked us at a "nicer" hotel a block away and even though it was more expensive they would pony up the difference.

My wife and I are in our sixties and fairly active; however having to lug our luggage up one flight of stairs only to be told "no room at the inn" is a total lack of courtesy and consideration since they knew we were coming, had just finished talking to us on the phone, and could see us arrive from their perch on the second floor.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank albellgye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

What I really didn't realize when I was booking was that "greyhound flats" which sounds really nice on paper, is completely separate from the inn and is actually kind of a strange experience. It was okay, but let's just say we were glad we were only there one night. The staff was REALLY helpful and friendly, which was great, but we really wished we were in the actual inn instead, because simply put, in our opinion, greyhound flats was very, very weird.
My traveling companion said "it looks like a storefront" and he's right. It was very disconcerting to be right on floor level, and the room itself was cold (even though we did get the heat adjusted for us, it stayed very cold until about 2 am because the heat was not on when we arrived...). The decor was kind of strange and didn't feel very homey. We ended up having to get our TV remote batteries replaced also. It was all just kind of a weird experience. I also wish there were more outlets in the room.
Overall, it was a decent experience, but I would not stay in Greyhound FLats again, though I may try the inn. With the prices it cost though, I would NOT choose Greyhound Flats, that's for sure.
Location of the inn is nice though, and the hotel staff is great so I would try the inn next time for sure.

Room Tip: Stay in the Inn, not greyhound flats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We we very please with our visit to Beaufort, it was made even better by our stay at the Beaufort Inn. The room was great, the staff excellent, breakfast was succulent, and to top it off we had a couples massage that was one of the best we have even had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2493GOricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a relaxing 2 days at the inn. I was a bit disappointed in the outward appearance, worn sign, seemed in need of a paint job, furniture in the room a bit scratched etc, but on a whole nice. The breakfasts need a lot of help, 2 people were trying to do it all. They ran out of everything or it was stone cold the first day, but it was somewhat better day two. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom. The staff was friendly and unfortunately their top rated restaurant was closed while we were there. We would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were blown away by the friendly staff at the beaufort inn. We brought along our 17 month daughter and so we stayed out in one of the cottages outside of the house and we absolutely loved it. It was clean and cozy. All of the staff was super friendly and the breakfast the next morning was the best i have ever had anywhere! We had almond encrusted French toast and the they had a gentleman who made omlets however you wanted them. We will definetly be back. The location was perfect, just a few steps from downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbertbri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Beaufort Inn is an icon and symbol of Beaufort South Carolina and the Lowcountry. Just a few steps from the downtown shops and a gorgious view of the Beaufort River. Both my wife and I enjoyed the outstanding personal service and attention to detail. Brunch and or dinner prepared by Southern Graces completes the overall experience of a wonderful stay. We plan to make this an annual event for our family. HAPPY TRAILS.

Room Tip: We prefer the historic cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely bedroom suite and common rooms!!
Kyle took care of our food and drink and was very concerned that we enjoy our dinner and breakfasts.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Lauren was especially sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanwhelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargoBurgess, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you Ms. Whelton for taking the time to share your feedback about The Beaufort Inn with us & fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back to Beautiful Beaufort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#10 of 15 in Beaufort
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $148 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing