We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but starting to show some wear”
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a relaxing 2 days at the inn. I was a bit disappointed in the outward appearance, worn sign, seemed in need of a paint job, furniture in the room a bit scratched etc, but on a whole nice. The breakfasts need a lot of help, 2 people were trying to do it all. They ran out of everything or it was stone cold the first day, but it was somewhat better day two. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom. The staff was friendly and unfortunately their top rated restaurant was closed while we were there. We would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for The Beaufort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were blown away by the friendly staff at the beaufort inn. We brought along our 17 month daughter and so we stayed out in one of the cottages outside of the house and we absolutely loved it. It was clean and cozy. All of the staff was super friendly and the breakfast the next morning was the best i have ever had anywhere! We had almond encrusted French toast and the they had a gentleman who made omlets however you wanted them. We will definetly be back. The location was perfect, just a few steps from downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbertbri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Beaufort Inn is an icon and symbol of Beaufort South Carolina and the Lowcountry. Just a few steps from the downtown shops and a gorgious view of the Beaufort River. Both my wife and I enjoyed the outstanding personal service and attention to detail. Brunch and or dinner prepared by Southern Graces completes the overall experience of a wonderful stay. We plan to make this an annual event for our family. HAPPY TRAILS.

Room Tip: We prefer the historic cottages.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely bedroom suite and common rooms!!
Kyle took care of our food and drink and was very concerned that we enjoy our dinner and breakfasts.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Lauren was especially sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanwhelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargoBurgess, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you Ms. Whelton for taking the time to share your feedback about The Beaufort Inn with us & fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back to Beautiful Beaufort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed in Beaufort because of a business trip. From the second I walked into the front door the lady was there to welcome me and show me to my room. It was beautiful, I have attached some photo's of the room so you can see for yourself. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit along with a freshly made omelet of your choice. I also had a wonderful meal served to my room on the night I arrived which was delicious. I would strongly recommend staying at the Beaufort Inn, the hospitality and staff are just wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargoBurgess, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you so much Joy for sharing your great experience with us! We love all of the photos you shared of the Inn along with ones of our beautiful little town. Sometimes traveling for business isn't always fun, but we are glad this trip was for you! We hope to have you as a guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at The Beaufort Inn during the Thanksgiving Holiday and had high expectations. Housekeeping and maintenance was quite poor. Dirty floors, toilet that was broken, frayed upholstery, front door lock hard to unlock.
Concierge service wasn't prepared to answer various questions regarding open restaurants, movie theaters and general information.
Breakfast was quite good with excellent food and service.
The Inn has potential but poorly managed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargoBurgess, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently looking into your room issue complaints and will use them to help us improve our service. We have also asked our local restaurants & shopping boutiques for updated hours so that we are more prepared when guests asks of things to do outside of our Inn. Thank you again for your review. If you are back in the area again in the future, we would love for you to give us another chance to show you just how great The Beaufort Inn really is!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Beaufort Inn for one night on our way to Parris Island for our son's U.S.Marine boot camp graduation nearby. It looked so charming in its online description and I wanted to give it try and am so glad that I did. The decor was Southern-style lovely and the room itself was more than what I expected. From the sumptuous bed to the coffee service to the charming balcony, I just loved it! We had only a short one-night stay (regretfully) but if I'm ever in that area again, I will definitely stay there. And for longer next time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therivergang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,018 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $186 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing