We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Relaxing Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic visit at the Beaufort Inn. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and a nice box of chocolate. Accommodations were spacious and location was only a block away from the water, shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend the Beaufort Inn to anyone wanting a quiet romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear Matt K, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The Beaufort Inn on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and chocolates! We hope to welcome you and your wife back to the Lowcountry when you can spend more than just one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    183
    62
    19
    15
See reviews for
174
675
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This inn is an interesting mix of old and new. The building is new looking but the rooms are old time beautiful and furnished with many antiques. The wall papering alone is something to see. It's a great place to stay. But unlike many old inns and B & B's where the owner is on site, we found the Beaufort Inn a little cool, lacking in the kind of personal hospitality that we've seen elsewhere. The service was good and professional, but clearly provided by folks who worked at the inn and not those who owned it and lived there. The grounds are nice, and perfect for weddings or other formal events. Parking is convenient, either in the back or across the street at a public, but free, lot. Other location facilities are limited, no pool or billiard table, for example, and no drinks. At both the inn and the restaurant, it's BYOB. The hot semi-buffet style breakfast was fine, but not exceptional given our expectations. On the plus side, the inn of course is only a couple of blocks from Beaufort's Bay Street and then a short walk to the waterfront on the Beaufort River. Good restaurants abound right nearby.

Room Tip: A room with a porch is the best bet in nice weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Jean-Luc-Traveler, thank you taking the time to share your feedback with us and fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Although we do not live at the Inn, my husband and I would have been delighted to have had the opportunity to meet you and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you found our staff to be professional, as we strive to make each and every guest experience exceptional. Please contact me personally the next time your travels bring you to the Lowcountry. I'll take care of you personally! Julianne Myers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, LA, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Our family rented a Town House Loft throught the Beaufort Inn to attend my son's Marine Graduation. The loft was beautiful, spacious and in a great location! The staff are pleasant and make you feel like you are being welcomed to their home. Awesome breakfast! Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Rose F, congratulations to the new Marine in your family! And most importantly, thank you for the many sacrifices your son and family make on behalf of our great country. I am so glad you enjoyed our lovely Loft. The Beaufort Inn has accommodations including intimate rooms in the main house, historic cottages, and large lofts and cottages. Thank you for your comments about our fabulous staff. "You feel like you are being welcomed to their home." What a compliment! We hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I bought a groupon for the Beaufort Inn, it was a delightful experience. Not somewhere I could afford normally but because of the groupon it was a nice change. Nice, slow pace in January.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiavallee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear georgiavallee96, thank you for purchasing our Groupon deal! We are so glad you had a delightful experience. You mentioned we are "not somewhere you could normally afford." Please check out website for specials and packages. We hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry very soon, and appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Beaufort Inn is first class. Located within a couple of blocks of a number of excellent restaurants and the water front park. Our room was spacious and the bed was the most comfortable we have enjoyed in a long time. We arrived too late on a Sunday for the buffet brunch, but we could see how good it had been. We did enjoy the quality breakfast the next morning.

Most impressive was the attitude of the Inn staff. They were always responsive. Since it was Sunday, we were not certain which restaurants might be open. The clerk on duty called ahead for us to make sure what was open.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Olin S, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Beaufort Inn on Trip Advisor. We are honored by your feedback, and are delighted our team exceeded your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to further serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Beaufort Inn. The accommodations were luxurious and matched only by the local scenery! We recommend the Beaufort Inn highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the historic cottages, and will do so again the next time we stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear David J, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you had the opportunity to visit our sweet little town! I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful Lowcountry scenery, and hope you have the opportunity to return to our pretty little town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience staying at the Beaufort Inn. Our room was beautiful, the property was beautiful, and breakfast was amazing! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning to the Beaufort Inn in the future! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethDale1643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufortinn, Owner at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear BethDale1643, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Beaufort Inn with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Breakfast is yummy, isn't it? We hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Property: The Beaufort Inn
Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing