We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beaufort Inn”

John Mark Verdier House
Ranked #17 of 61 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home that dates to the 1790s, is open as a museum.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beaufort Inn”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

enjoyed the tour. Interesting facts about the time. Would have liked a little more information about the time period the house was built

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElginTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very well restored”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a wonderful host, Gracie, that toured us throught the mansion in an unhurried manner. It was what we expected from classic Southern host. They also had a visting art exhibit to add to tours enjoyment. Well worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not an inspirational tour.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm sorry to say, we were not inspired by this tour. The docent was knowledgable, but curt. Seemingly, you get the feel that the Beaufort Historical Foundation would like you to leave your $10.00 (per person) at the door and keep walking. They even have several "donation" canisters set up. This is the first tour in our married lives we did not donate or leave a gratuity. Several rooms have exhibits of historical significance set up. They are accompanied by poster sized printed material. The guide allowed NO time for reading or really even looking at the interesting exhibits. One poor couple was harangued with, "come on people!", when they lagged behind. Please, don't have that stuff set up if you don't want the rif raf reading it.The building itself is interesting and in a constant state of preservation. The information concerning that effort is the saving grace of this tour. If you're short of time in Beaufort and can only do so much, take Jon Sharps walking tour instead. You won't be sorry! More $$, but you get what you pay for in this case. By the way, I believe the home was built in 1804....not the 1790's. That's what the guide and literature allude to.

Helpful?
Thank 10brink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Outside looks like "just an old 1800's house" but inside is a great historical presentation of the events & people who helped Beaufort become the town it is. There is a.$10.00 admission fee. Ok, goes to a great cause. Nice preservation of walls, doors & fireplaces. We enjoyed this tour a lot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Less than what I thought it would be, but still very interesting. The Civil War exhibit underneath is also very unique, a great look at Beaufort's history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DmnYankeeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Mark Verdier House also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to John Mark Verdier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing