We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven on our special day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belesta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I usually never take the time to write reviews but this time I cannot recommend this place enough,

We stayed at Hotel Riberach last week for our wedding, for three nights and really enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel itself has everything a person would need for a very comfortable stay in the Pyrenees. Beautiful rooms (all different) overlooking the mountains and Wynyard which on a sunny day is gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful.

The level of service we received throughout our stay made the whole experience so much more special. During the planning process of our wedding I received all the responses I needed and felt my requests were well communicated and understood. From the very beginning I felt I was working with pros, I organised my entire wedding from London and felt fully supported in every step (thanks again Lucie!). We had access to the reception room the day before our wedding to set up the decorations and everyone was extremely helpful and on the wedding day the staff went out of their way to make us feel ‘at home’ and made things run smoothly (thank you to James, Christelle, le Chef, le Sommelier, Marie and to everyone else who contributed to our special day!).

Overall the hotel has a luxury boutique feel. It is a short drive to many sightseeing activities, walks and wineries, also not too far from the sea so it's very easy to enjoy a day out and about.
We enjoyed breakfast, brunch and dinner in the hotel and I have to say it was perfect in every way. There was a wide range of local foods on the menu and our guests travelling from abroad really enjoyed it and still talk about the quality of food.

We really enjoyed our time here and found it very relaxing; we know we will be back soon! Riberach was for us a little piece of heaven and so worth splashing out on!

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelbsw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was about nine at night and I was sitting in a cafe in Ille-sur-tet without a place to spend the night when I trip-advised the surrounding towns and and picked Riverbach based on favorable reviews, and one available room. The road to Belesta is tortuous, and it was dark, but around a final turn in the road, the town was above me, all lit up. And then the surprise of the hotel. Beautifully conceived reconstructed wine cave, elegantly appointed, with an excellent restaurant. Make a point of seeking out James, the very knowledgeable and attentive sommelier and maitre d. An expat Englishman, with a deep knowledge of the excellent local wines. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A really good hotel and restaurant where dogs are welcome.
We had a really great 3 night stay with our 2 mutts (Westie and Jack Russell).
A large, comfortable and well equipped bedroom and bathroom, with a separate sitting area and a small balcony looking over the gardens and countryside.
Belesta is a tiny isolated village in the hills, about 25 kms from Perpignan, in the Langeudoc Roussillon wine region.
Riberach Hotel is an incredibly well converted modernised wine chai with every conceivable comfort.
Staff are friendly and helpful. For Anglophones, won't hurt if you brush up on your school French as only a few speak English.
The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet (particularly for carb and cake freaks) ... there was a choice of 8 different cakes and tarts on our stay.
Dinner showcases local produce in interesting flavours and creative presentations.
A good selection of local wines plus some from more distant parts, and priced for all tastes and budgets.
Nice to dine under the stars on the terrace though gets a bit cool in the evenings, even in August.
Only 2 small issues ... Very limited off street parking by hotel for 4 cars (small), and wifi doesn't reach the rooms, though it is available in the library and surrounds.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Someone has put a lot of money into this renovating an old winery to make this hotel. It is has been beautifully done and is a wonderful place to stay. There is a very nice view from the balconies, a natural water pool and a visually beautiful restaurant (though we found the food a little strange like the chef was trying too hard to be gourmet). The hotel, though off the beaten track, is in an area with several wonderful drives.

The rooms have been outfitted with every modern convenience and have a very modern appearance. The price is quite reasonable for the qualitiy of the accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A really nice hotel with a flawless service in cute village. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms, the bathroom was great, the room really comfortable. Both had amazing natural light both in the evening and in the morning and we received a complimentary bottle of wine. The eco pool was interesting, it's actually more of a pond, including a strong smell and a few frogs...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My first impression of the Riberach approaching on a windy night as the sun went down was of Slade Prison. It's a long two storey stone building with small rectangular windows whose small balconies look like bars across the window in the fading night light. The impression that the architects were fans of Porridge is reinforced when you get inside: a central atrium restaurant with two storey bedroom wings to either side. The bedroom wings have open plan platform walkways and stairwells.

However, there the comparison stops. The design is elegant, modern and finished to a very high standard. The bedrooms and bathroom are straight from an interior design magazine, and are very comfortable and a decent size.

Despite the excellent design, the highlight for me was actually the food. Following the contemporary theme it was by far the best we ate in our week in France. The service was also faultless, although it helps (and is appreciated) if you speak a little French.

I hope I have the excuse to be in this area again as I would happily do another stretch in Slade Prison.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Four of us had a wonderful Sunday lunch at Riberach in Sept 2011 and it was even better this year. The 30 Euro menu was unbelievably good value (you pay that for an indifferent meal in many a French restaurant) and their were three delicious additions to the menu. The service was slightly over the top last year but this year the young staff were very professional and friendly. Riberach is off the beaten track but worth a visit. And don't miss the little museum of Belesta if you go for lunch.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belesta
12.2 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
275 reviews
8.2 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
108 reviews
24.4 mi away
Domaine de Falgos
Domaine de Falgos
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
La Villa Duflot
La Villa Duflot
#3 of 46 in Perpignan
513 reviews
12.3 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
162 reviews
21.5 mi away
Host & Vinum
Host & Vinum
#1 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant

Address: 2 route de Caladroy, 66720 Belesta, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Belesta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belesta
Price Range: $142 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing