We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming cafe”
Review of Cooked Goose

Cooked Goose
Ranked #1 of 139 Restaurants in Westerly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming cafe”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Enjoyable luncheon in beautiful Rhode Island summer resort area. The name "Cooked Goose" implies something bad but there's only good stuff here. Could have called it the "Silly Goose" for the fun decor and esoteric names for the sandwiches on the menu. You'd need a docent to explain it all and our waiter kindly filled us in on the inside jokes with the sandwich names. We went with the "Oscar," melt-in-your-mouth rare slices of filet mignon with salad stuff on a Portuguese sweet roll billed as brioche.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MertonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    94
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An achievement in excellence.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Aside from being the only game in town and a gem in a location that has few options, it is one of the best restaurants I have dined in...ever....anywhere. If this sounds grandiose, it's not. The Cooked Goose is worthy of such praise because it achieves excellence on a variety of levels. The food is planned, sourced and prepared with love and it shows. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. The staff is happy and professional. The value for your time and money is precise. After you enjoy your meal, be sure to stop at the counter and bring some baked goods home with you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-EllenCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“area's best breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We love the breakfast at the Goose. It is always good. There is usually a wait in season but worth it! The sweets are to die for - cookies, muffins, yum! The salads are also very very good and the ice tea is the best in Westerly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bisykmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great find in an area with few choices”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We always complain that there is nowhere decent to grab lunch in Westerly when we visit. Then we happened upon the Cooked Goose on the road out to Watch Hill. It is a great find. They have indoor and outdoor seating and also a great deli counter for take out of salads and entrees.

My husband enjoyed the gazpacho and a half sandwich(chicken salad) and I had a chopped salad with fruit and chicken. It was causal, clean and relaxing. Well prepared food and good service. It is just a local place but worth the drive. Looks like they have good breakfasts too. No dinner. They close at 3.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenthere1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This Gander loves the Cooked Goose !”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Go and enjoy breakfast and lunch at the Cooked Goose !
My wife and I vacation in Misquamicut summerly. We only eat at restaurants that competently serve very good food at reasonable prices.
The Goose does that and a lot more. No reservations. Everyone from the hostess to the owners treat you like the most important customer. That's because to them you are. The smiling and competent staff hustle through the open and airey dining area located across from a small Rockwellian marina. Comfortable and homey seating is abound whether it's wood or leather. Now for the most important stuff, the food and $. For breakfast: the Cooked Goose Truffled eggs 12.95 is fantastic. Lobster eggs benedict 12.95 is super. I was stuffed after both. Vanilla almond French toast 7.95, wife loved it.
For lunch: Lobster roll was great.
double foot-long loaded dogs 8.95 excellent.
Go and enjoy at the Cooked Goose ! We'll be back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeymangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooked Goose also viewed

 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Cooked Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing