We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very friendly; hope to return soon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tradewinds Motel

The Tradewinds Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tradewinds Motel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Westerly
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly; hope to return soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Nice simple room and close to the beach but not too close that we had a noise problem at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank screen_name_null
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We will definitely return to this motel! Room was basic but clean and comfortable and at a great price for the area. We loved the convenience of being able to walk to beach and owner was welcoming and friendly. Be aware that it is no frills but you do have a refrigerator, microwave and air conditioning. Bathroom was small but functional and our bed was a double which is smaller than we are used to but still very comfortable. Motel was completely full during our stay but we did not hear any noise from the other rooms except for the bathroom (probably because of the air conditioning.) Tables are provided outside many of the rooms so you can relax with a beverage and talk to your neighbors if you wish. Not fancy but no complaints at all from us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chauddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Although I never met the woman who books the rooms, she seemed very pleasant and straightforward. Not having the office staffed at any point during my stay was strange, but never caused a problem. My room was small particularly because it was so narrow. The only adjustment for heat is on the floor (baseboard) and impossible to read. A double bed (not a queen, not in great condition) barely left walking-around room. The TV was a flat panel, but 27” is not big enough for the distance from the bed. In an unusual case of room design, hanging clothes blocked half the screen. The bathroom seemed to have been redone recently and was very nice, but the shower stall was a bit small. There was no one next to me during my stay, so I was unable to tell how much noise came through the walls, my main criterion for evaluating a motel. Keep in mind that they have different sizes and shapes for rooms, so others may not have these features. All you get is soap, so bring everything else, including breakfast.

The room had a small refrigerator and even a tiny microwave, increasingly rare in beach motels in the northeast, but mine reeked of popcorn, and not in a good way. If you are unfamiliar with the Misquamicut Beach area, there is nowhere nearby to eat out of season; you must drive 2.5 miles back to US 1. The microwave is a big help; daily room service would be, too, if they offered it. There are no outside garbage cans to get rid of your trash.

The motel appears very secure and the clients I met nice, but without a staffed office and no in-room phone, I would not stay here without a cell phone.

All in all, I recommend this motel as there really aren’t very many near the beach in Westerly (nor the entire south Rhode Island coast, for that matter, and even fewer open all year). My experience compared very favorably with the reviews of the other motels in Westerly I have read on this site. You might have more services in-season.

The reason I downgraded the room from a possible four stars is their pricing policy. They gave me a rate of $180 for three nights. When I got there, they had a sign up saying I could have had a room for seven nights for $150. I feel cheated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I always remove the bedspreads when I get to a room as well as inspect for bed bugs. Thank goodness no bedbugs but nasty stains on the backs of these very old and faded bedspreads. I needed to wash with soap & warm water after touching them. I also found a dental flosser on the floor near the bed and there was black mold growing in the shower. I've posted photos of the room (#13). I will say that I was pleasantly surprised that it was an efficiency for my $100 (last weekend of summer special) and we were able to make coffee (had to find a grocery store to purchase coffee, sugar & cream) for the morning. We selected this room based on other Trip Advisor reviews, but I can't say that I'd recommend this place to a friend, nor will I ever stay here again. The owner was indeed nice, but I did notice he did not inquire how our stay was. Probably for the best...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CTShutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I are "lighthouse chasers" and were looking for a basic motel to spend two nights in as we visited lighthouses in Connecticut and Rhode Island. The Tradewinds fit the bill. The room was on the small side, just a bed, chair, dresser and small frig- no table - but was very clean and functional. Would not want to stay in this room if we were going to be spending a lot of time in the motel, but was perfect for what we wanted - a place to sleep after spending most of the day on the road.
Air conditioning, flat screen tv worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I have stayed at this motel at least a dozen times over the past six or seven years and have always found the owners to be friendly and accommodating. The rooms are basic but immaculately clean and comfortable. It is the best value at the beach (a short walk away) and off the main road so it is peaceful. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a pleasant, quiet place to stay near the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawcatuck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband and I come from western MASS & each summer for at least 15 years we would vacation 2-3 days down in Westerly RI. We tried different motels but for the last 10 years of our visits we stayed at the Trade Winds. We felt safe, and relaxed. Through Gary & Gail we learned what a wonderful commuinty it is & moved to the area when we retired. When our friends & family visit we always recomend the Trade Winds because of clean, nice, quiet rooms, close to the ocean at a great price. Thank you! D&M Brown.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PawcatuckDbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westerly hotels
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#7 of 18 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 18 in Westerly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 4 in Watch Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.6 mi away
Watch Hill Inn
Watch Hill Inn
#3 of 4 in Watch Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tradewinds Motel

Property: The Tradewinds Motel
Address: 4 Rabbit Run, Westerly, RI 02891-3504
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Westerly
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Tradewinds Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing