We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere, GREAT food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Twisted Vine

The Twisted Vine
Ranked #43 of 138 Restaurants in Westerly
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, GREAT food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a relatively new restaurant in downtown Westerly, RI. The atmosphere is absolutely beautiful. Aged brick walls, cherry wood floors, high ceilings, lots of space. Finally (!!) a menu that doesn't have standard fare on it! The food was absolutely delicious. People at other tables were even talking about how tasty their dinners were. The owner milled around the restaurant and talked to the guests which was very nice. The service, however, was rather slow (we waited 55 mins for our food to arrive at 8:30PM). We thought the waitress was very rude; we were stunned by things she said. Other than that, the ambiance was delightful, the menu had a lot of variety, and the food was worth coming back for. If the service was great, I'd have rated them Excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jujuinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute little Bistro in Westerly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped here after a day of sailing. Very cute little bistro. The food was amazing. The owner was so sweet and helped us decide what we wanted and what was good. The lava cake was one of the best desserts I've ever had. Chef is very creative and open to new things.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snooklefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting treated Royally!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Twisted Vine recently helped us host over 100 visitors to Westerly pubs and restaurants with such awesome charm and character. We were organizing a fundraiser (a pub crawl) to help raise awareness for Autism, which our grandson, Teddy, has been diagnosed with. Our 'Team' had purchased blue or white (designated drivers) shirts and our first stop was to visit The Twisted Vine. The hostess was very gracious, we were welcomed by the manager, and there had been a special drink arranged for a discounted purchase, which I heard was divine (I had a white shirt)! Many of our Team frequented the Twisted Vine and enjoyed their fine selections. Those sitting with us had the Greek Wedding Soup (super yummy), the Soupy and Cheddar Cheese appetizers, and sandwiches looking like a grilled bruschetta, with large slices of tomatoes, mozzarella, basil on thick slices of bread. Super fantastic. We saw many of our group frequenting the Twisted Vine, either inside or outside the front of the restaurant at their cafe tables. It was an awesome place to visit and we look forward to going back there again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Ribs to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Wine selection, Seared tuna was the best, and the Short Ribs are "To Die For" you can get the Short Ribs in a double size as a meel or a single as a snack, nice option.What a place to visit.
Nice big bar area.
Great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Twisted Vine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice space, but lots of hard surfaces so noisy and compounds the situation by increasing the need to speak louder. A very nice and interesting selection of wines with a low factor mark up. We ate a cheese/meat platter with baguette and while an interesting selection of components the amount:price ratio was relatively low. Dessert was very disappointing and at $8 was poor value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeregrineSeCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Twisted Vine also viewed

 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to The Twisted Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing