We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Drink Beer But Who Cares”
Review of The Malted Barley

The Malted Barley
Ranked #2 of 140 Restaurants in Westerly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
New London, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Don't Drink Beer But Who Cares”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Although I don't drink beer, I love going to the Malted Barley. They have a decent selection of red and white wines and Prosecco by the glass. I am a sucker for anything break like and the pretzels here are to die for. They are worth the wait, if there is one, and you should save room for the dessert style offerings. Bring your guy with you, because he will love the huge selection of beers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    67
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pretzels!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Didn't have beer but had a cocktail which was very good and their pretzels are awesome!! Nice ambience, had live music!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beer & Service”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Found this place while on way to wedding in RI and needed place to watch the World Cup on July 4th. Glad we did. Probably the most beer I have seen on tap in a long time and all interesting. Bonus were the great pretzel options and sandwiches. Bartender was great giving tips on each beer option and menu choices. Wish we lived closer to go more often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best pretzels!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Who would think pretzels would taste so good?!! There pretzels and dips are amazing. The pretzel sandwiches are delicious. I don't think I would enjoy another pretzel from anywhere else! No other pretzel can top this place. Go check it out.. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretzels and Beer on Steroids”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Incredible. Who knew that an old favorite combo can be so satisfying in new iterations. If you, like us, enjoy some familiar foods prepared in innovative ways this is a place to visit. We visited three times before writing this review because we wanted to be certain it was not a "one time" experience. Now it is a regular stop. The menu has more choices than can be listed here but it is worth trying e en the most adventuresome items. They rock! Our guide in this experience was Becky who patiently provided the information about the menu and encouraged us to try some new sandwiches and local craft beers. Conveniently located in downtown Westerly where shops and food are aplenty, it is a standout. The outdoor patio looks over the Pawcatuck River.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AscDac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malted Barley also viewed

Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to The Malted Barley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing