We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and sandwiches”
Review of The Malted Barley

The Malted Barley
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Westerly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great beer and sandwiches”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice local bar with lots of delicious beer offerings for every different taste. Limited food menu but sandwiches are all on pretzels that are warm and quite tasty. Friday nights are very busy and service staff was really nice but not enough people on so a little slow. Gets crowded and loud inside but patio option is great for conversation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondebass1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    68
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I can not get enough of the pretzel sandwiches here. When ever my husband and I go out I ask if we can go here. I actually crave the roast beef sandwich!!! Not only are the sandwiches good there are so many beers to choose from!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexico-is-the-best1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lots of beer!..and good pretzels”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Best part of this place is the selection of beers on tap. They have maybe about 30 that they rotate every once in awhile, and you can do a flight and taste several or just go for one. I like the breakdown they give you on the menu, it tells you where they from, what type, and alcohol content. If you get there earlier in the evening, best thing is to sit at the bar, then you don't have to worry about cramming your way in to get a drink, and the bartenders are friendly and attentive. We had several beers while there this past weekend and also sampled the pretzel sandwiches and just regular pretzels. Good as always, crispy on the outside, chewy inside, good flavor. My only complaint would be the grilled cheese sandwich could use more cheese inside, which would make it excellent, rather than just very good :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wish we had a better experience!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

From all accounts, this place is fantastic. The beer selection was great, and the pretzel sandwiches sounded delicious. Unfortunately, after waiting 30 mins for a beer and an hour for food (which never came) we left. I understand if you're understaffed or very busy, but the waitress was clearly avoiding our table, walked by multiple times trying not to make eye contact, no explanation, apology or to ask if we'd like another drink while we waited for the food. Disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meet up with friends”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was on travel and had an in prompt tu meet up with some friends I hadn't seen in quite some time. The pub was spacious and had lots of seating. The over 20 options on tap were a pleasant surprise and the staff was always willing to make recommendations or offer a tasting. I did notice they also serve wine but was surprised to see red and white wine on tap. The atmosphere was lively but not too loud to carry on a conversation. I would go again and would also recommend this place for meeting friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malted Barley also viewed

Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to The Malted Barley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing