We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haversham Tavern

Haversham Tavern
Ranked #10 of 138 Restaurants in Westerly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New London, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We met some friends here for New Years Eve. I know -this is not the night to judge a restaurant for it's food and service. Don't expect fine dining-after all it is a tavern. Go for the band on a regular night, cold beers and fried appetizers. We ordered the pizza, crab cakes and mac & cheese. The server forgot our silver ware and took forever to get the check.
Just don't take the food too seriously.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erinaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    72
    36
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second chance... no thanks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Having recently moved to Westerly, my mother and little cousin were in town to visit me. They are a bit picky while I am a bit more relaxed. I have reviewed the Haversham before and gave them a poor review. I believe in second chances and I really want to like this place. The building and landscape is beautiful but I can not say the service or food is up to par. We decided on this place because my little cousin is an avid steak eater. Most other places in Westerly only serve rib eye which can be quite fatty and we were looking for a strip steak. So to the Haversham we went. We were seated immediately even though they seemed quite busy so that was good, however my little cousin is 11 and the hostess sat us in the bar area…. Anyways, we were famished so I immediately ordered an appetizer and drinks from the bar and a water. We got the drinks right away but no water. I noticed we did not have any silverware but assumed our server would notice. We got the appetizers after quite some time. Still, no water so I asked again. We ate up the appetizers which were quite good. The dinner took forever which was probably due to a back up in the kitchen. When our entrees were finally brought out we were never brought silverware and the server quickly dropped off the entrees so I did not have time to ask… still no water. I had to get up and ask a busser to bring us silverware as our server was no where to be found. Finally, we received silverware and after asking yet again I got my water. My entrée was quite bland and not worth the price, I got the mac and cheese… I could have made a better dish on my own for half the cost. My mother got the cob salad which had tomatoes that were far past their expiration date. My little cousin ordered the steak medium well which came out medium rare. The GM or owner came over and asked how everything was… we didn’t divulge our experience and regretted not doing so. They really need to work on their service and paying attention to details. I must say I will never come back here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerly
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“toooooo expensive for a small portion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I ordered bourbon sirloin tips. The amount of food i got including baked potatoe and a hand full of brokley was small for the $16.99 price. Each piece of sirloin tips was extremely fatty too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 13crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went to their Halloween party, what a great time, plenty of costumes, live music, good food and beer, good-time tavern atmosphere, no upscale attitudes, just casual good time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loud Bar, Decent Food, Great for Sports”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

There are about 30 large screen TV's in the main dining area, so it is perfect if yo u are going to watch sports. That said, there are no booths and many hard surfaces, so it is extremely loud when the restaurant is moderately busy. The food lacks originality, such as six obviously frozen mozzzarella sticks served on a white plate, but it tastes okay. I go when I'm trying to watch a drink with friends, but if I'm craving awesome, original food, this isn't the place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunflowerAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haversham Tavern also viewed

Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Haversham Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing