We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find”
Review of Shelter Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelter Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Westerly B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place., thank you frommers! Beautiful room and comfy bed! Friendly staff. Restaurant on site is excellent food and bar is an added plus w the nicest bartender. Will b back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiloMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Shelter Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had a dinner meeting here. Lovely quiet back room. Server was polite and knowledgeable. Good selection of wines. Great salad, delicious clams on the half shell and shrimp cocktail. The lobster and scallops were well prepared and delicious.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have stayed at Shelter Harbor, attened a family dinner there, and regularly eat meals there. The atmosphere is peaceful, the service is terrific, and the food tastes awesome! Highly recommend! And, don't let the weather deter from visiting South County in the winter; the fireplace at their restaurant in lovely. You'll feel like you stepped back in time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Just returned from a lovely delighttful, delectable 2 day trip advisor special at the Inn. We had a huge room with a fireplace with plenty of wood to burn and received a $20.00 credit towards our dinner with a free bottle of wine. The breakfasts were complimentary, choosing from a full menu selection. Food presentation and quality was fine. The inn provides plenty of space for outdoor activities and it's proximity to beaches is close. You do need a car. Although, the decor is "shabby sheik", ( what does one expect from a building over 100 years old) all I kept thinking about is how great this place must be in the summer. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and accomodating and all amenities were provided.

Room Tip: Our room # was 24. Not the main building, but approximately 50 yards away with only two steps up to...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMorleys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Overall, a very nice place, but you do have to be prepared to deal with some eccentricities, shall we say. Although not as crazy as the Inn depicted in the John Cleese sitcom Fawlty Towers, it does have some things to deal with, mostly from the owner and his new wife, who fancies herself an expert on everything there, which upon closer inspection is clearly not the case, but don't try to tell her that! The heat/AC system in the rooms, the fireplaces smoking out the dining rooms, the catering to the group of paddleball players at the expense of others....if you can put up with these, then it is nice, the location is great, the food in the restaurant very nice, as is most of the staff. So check it out, but be prepared!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We just got back from a wonderful stay. We took advantage of the winter weekend special - $229/weekend including hotel tax and 2 full breakfasts each day. We stayed in room 19 in the barn that shares a "living/dining" huge space with room 20. The room was huge. Breakfasts were made to order with a choice each morning including crab benedict, apple pancakes, omelets...The crab (and salmon) cake was light and tasty....a perfect start to the day. We didn't have time to take advantage of the hot tub or deck/grill but it is open year-round. I would return. We started the weekend with the wine dinner --also a treat!

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 20 seem to share a living space. The space is open to guests, but I can't imagine...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorbyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Having stayed there previously, I booked a room for a recent trip with a friend. The original room booked was in the "barn." It was so musty, I woke up with a migraine and my friend, a horrible asthma attack. They gratiously allowed me to switch rooms, saying that another double was available in the main house for the remainder of my stay. All went well until the day before we were to checkout. On a whim, we stopped back at the inn about noon and the housekeeper making up our room said (in very broken English) that someone else was checking into that room that night. I went down to see what was going on, and was told yes, someone else had booked that room and that we were either going to have to go back to our original room OR move to a double. Neither was an acceptable solution so we checked out. I understand that mix-ups can occur, but what really steamed me was that we had to learn about all this from the maid. While the front desk staff was apologetic, the owner of the inn looked right at me and never said a word nor did they offer to help us find another place to stay. Ended up at a Holiday Inn Express -- great room, better food, and better price. If you're looking for good customer service, this is not the place. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house. Avoid the barn!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerly
4.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
341 reviews
3.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#3 of 17 in Westerly
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
4.2 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
248 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#2 of 10 in Westerly
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Harbor Inn

Address: 10 Wagner Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-4709
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range: $60 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shelter Harbor Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing