We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic setting and great service”

Seasons at the Ocean House
Reserve with OpenTable
Seasons at the Ocean House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Part of the Ocean House Hotel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting and great service”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We had heard about the Ocean House and decided to stop at Seasons for lunch on our way Providence. The Ocean House was beautiful in a great setting with an incredible view of the ocean even in November. All the staff (hotel, valet, restaurant were a combination of professional and personal. They created an atmosphere of warmth and provided great attention to personal service. The Ocean house was elegant and clean. We plan to go return for a stay in the hotel. Lunch was ok. A little pricey but we enjoyed ourselves.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn that after your visit you wish to return to stay with us at the Ocean House. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    63
    49
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westerly
1 review
“give it another try. you will not be disappointed.”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

our 2nd visit to the OH. menu is far less confusing than before and you will leave there satisfied and looking forward to your next visit. besides having larger portions, we found our food and wine choices, all suggested by the very helpful and friendly Holly, to be excellent. if you loved it bebore, you will love it more. if you didn't, you will love it now.

Helpful?
Thank elaineWesterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We have listened to our guests and have altered Seasons menu to offer larger portion sizes, and have focused on improving our service in all areas of the hotel. Thank you for giving us another opportunity and we hope you visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere and great possibilities...”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

When you spend $175 million to build it and $14 mil just to tear the old building down, you better have something pretty special when you're done. No worries on that account. The builder succeeded mightily. The building and grounds are truly special.

But here we're talking restaurant review and the quality of the restaurant experience does not match the high level of the hotel's ambiance.

Four of us dined in the main dining room on a Saturday evening.

The first thing you notice is that the menu is quite limited. This night the menu consisted of six entrees-total. Three seafood, three meat. Entrees were priced from $25 to $36 and one prix fixe "chef's tasting menu" at $58 consisting of a salad, what's called a "smaller serving", the "larger serving", and dessert.

Two guests opted for salad and filet mignon, another salad and the lobster, and I opted for the tasting menu.

The folks who opted for the filet mignon were the winners. The beef was perfectly cooked as ordered and the quality of the meat was excellent. Filet mignon is normally the tenderest but least tasty of beef offerings. Tonight it had more flavor than expected.
The portion was properly sized and properly presented. No complaints here.

My wife had the lobster dish at $36.

Munchkins from the Wizard of Oz would have been hungry after eating this offering.

What she received was one HALF of a very small New England lobster tail. (The entire lobster in its shell could not have weighed more than a pound and a quarter.)

This dish was supposed to arrive with Port wine, fig and chocolate sauce. Yes, you read that correctly. Thank goodness she opted for the sauce on the side.
Lobster--in this case poached--is a very delicious but delicately flavored item. The sauce was, shall we say "different". It also would have totally overwhelmed the succulent lobster. The lobster itself, however, was indeed moist, tender and very flavorful. It was just miniscule. (My wife weighs 110 lbs and is not a big eater, but this portion size was ridiculous.)

I had the Chef's tasting menu at $58.00

Now, when they say "tasting menu" they are not kidding.

This night, Pekin Duck was featured as the "larger" of the two servings with flounder being the "smaller" dish.

The fish consisted of a strip of flounder aproximately 1 1/2 inches wide and 3 inches long. It was lightly dusted with flour and perfectly sauteed. To say it weighed about 2 ounces would be generous.

The Pekin duck arrived. Two strips about 1/8th inch thick and about 1 inch wide and 4 inches long. No crispy skin here. None. Now, they tasted okay for what they were, but looking at the plate you'd have thought you were being served two strips of Spam.

The opening salad greens were fresh. Presentation was okay. Dressing, unremarkable.

The college age man who served us was pleasant and competent. (Securing restaurant help in a short season resort area is always a challenge, so I don't expect NYC upscale fine dining level service. This young man was fine.)

Our group prefers quality to quantity, so when we say the portions (with the exception of the beef) were miniscule--that's what they were.

We think this place has tremendous potential to be a nationally recognized destination resort of the highest order.

A few minor adjustments to the dining experience could make it happen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLM1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed feedback. Our menu does present itself as limited, as we are a farm to table restaurant and we change many of the menu items daily. We also want to execute dishes at the highest level possible. The lobster that we do use are local and of excellent quality and the portion is an entire 1.5 lb lobster – however it is completely removed from its shell and thus can have the appearance of being a smaller portion . In our small plates, the protein portions are weighed out to 4 ounces and in larger 6 to 8 oz. The tasting menu consists of smaller portions each of four courses for $58.00 which compares favorably to other restaurants in the area. We appreciate you enjoyed the flavors of the meal and hope you return again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Disappointing”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I grew up summering in the area and always dreamed of getting married at the Ocean House. After what felt like decades of rumors about the fate of OH you can imagine how excited I was that (after such a meticulous renovation) the hotel re-openned. I've been three times now for drinks/dinner and have been waffling about sharing my experiences for a few weeks. I want the Ocean House to succeed, however I've been beyond disappointed thus far.
Each time I have visited the property I've been blown away by just how self important the staff seem to find themselves. I live in Manhattan and am accustomed to occasionally dealing with bad service, however the employees at OH take the cake. They manage to be elitist, condescending and downright confused about the role they play in their guests' experience. While the food is fine and the cocktails are decent (although $15 seems slightly expensive), if you have any service standards, I can't recommend the Ocean House. At the start of the summer the locals were preaching patience, but as we approach Labor Day nothing has changed. I hope more than anything to come back and amend my review, but at this time it doesn't look promising.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback. We are currently working on improving our service as we want to offer our guests the best experience possible. We apologize if the intentions of the staff might have been confused, but all our associates and managers behave with humility and offer the utmost respect for the guest. We hope you try us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seasons Restaurant - Very Good Lunch & Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Ocean House was re-opened just 70 days when we had a weekday lunch on the enclosed porch in Seasons restaurant overlooking the Atlantic. I was hesitant to eat here as some reviews gave the impression the lunch would be tiny, over-priced and come from an off-balance, new kitchen.

My experience: Excellent, friendly service in a magnificent new building and very good food.

The pulled pork sandwich was very good although the slaw placed on top did not distinguish itself from prepared slaw. I requested additional BBQ sauce on the side and was given an excellent sauce, different from that on the pulled pork, that I think the kitchen may have mixed up special for me. Others enjoyed their burgers, BLT (w/fried egg) and yellow gazpacho & salad. Kid's menu available - provided sliced tomatoes & cucumbers for a 3-year-old.

The Ocean House has several eating venues (which is a little confusing at first). Seasons is for fine dining but is very casual for lunch. The terrace, verandah & pool all serve food but their lunch menus are scaled down (eg: sliders - three little hamburgers). All the food appears to come from the Seasons kitchen, where you can sit at a counter, eat and watch the cooks in action.

Portion sizes in Seasons were what you would expect at lunch and all sandwiches came with fries and a cute, little, personal bottle of catsup. Prices were only slightly higher than I would expect a good lunch spot in town without a view (we paid about $15 per sandwich).

I plan to return to try supper after the summer tourist season.

Free valet parking (3-hours with lunch validation) and the valets will not accept tips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
communicationsOH, Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable lunch at Seasons. Seasons lunch offers traditional lunch food, while dinner is more refined and is meant to be a tasting of seasonal ingredients through their delicate preparations. Our Verandah is to be small plates, but our Dune’s Cottage and Seaside Terrace do offer classic beach fare. We hope you visit us soon.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons at the Ocean House also viewed

Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Seasons at the Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing