We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning view/terrible food”

Seasons at the Ocean House
Reserve with OpenTable
Seasons at the Ocean House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Part of the Ocean House Hotel
middle haddam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“stunning view/terrible food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at the Ocean House on May 4th. As soon as we arrived we were impressed with this beautiful structure. You enter up stairs to a magnificent porch, than into a very stylish room past the front desk, the living/tea room, then into the bar, past the open kitchen and formal dining room, then finally the porch that has a view that is without a doubt the best on the east coast. There are 4 or 5 tables for two right in front of the glass that have the full view of this spectacular vista.
Because these tables were occupied or rightfully reserved we sat at a table which still had a nice view of Long Island Sound.
You have a choice of two menus, the Bistro menu and the Seasons menu. Because we found the Seasons menu more interesting we proceeded to order.
My wife ordered Pork ?Belly Tacos and I ordered Grilled Oysters. The Pork Belly was about an inch or more in diameter that sat on something that didn't look or taste like a taco with a small amount of pickled coleslaw. The dish had a nice flavor but the pork belly was an over kill. When you bite into the so called taco and belly, a large amount of grease drips down your hand onto your arm. If you order this dish beware, and double up on the Crestor. My oysters with a fennel and apple coleslaw(chef likes bland coleslaw's), with a piece of hard tasteless bacon' was the worst oyster dish I have ever had. Main courses were as bad. Find a chef.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. We will share your comments with our culinary team.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    64
    50
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to Me”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Last Sunday was my birthday and my wife took me to brunch at the Ocean House. Normally I don't like brunch but this was not a normal brunch. All of our expectations were exceeded. If you haven't been I suggest going before anything changes. Don't wait for a special occasion, just get there the next Sunday you are able.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KenanneHebron_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are very pleased that our excellent brunch exceeded your expectations. Our culinary staff put much thought and effort into providing a truly unique brunch experience. Please come enjoy our brunch again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton,VT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal in an unpretentious setting”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

OK, they require jackets for dinner. I'm old school. A little formality never hurt. And then there's the wicker furniture. Nice! The while thing balances out as a lovely 5-star meal at the beach.

We recently dined at Seasons for my wife's birthday. It was a special occasion and, we learned, Seasons is a very special place to dine. First off, our waiter was brilliant. He was helpful, cheerful and took quite a bit of good natured repartee from us. The amuse was these beautiful intense cubes of intense taste. My wife had a salad of three lettuces, with a crisp dividing each offering -- superb. I had a squash soup that was poured into a beautiful bowl filled with a variety of garnishes and a slow cooked egg -- heaven. The vegetable plate (our main course) was exquisite -- each item prepared differently all connected by delightful purees. The desert of chocolate soufflé with cherry sauce -- to die for. The wine selection was outstanding and our waiter recommend something lovely that we will add to our shopping list. On the way out the door we are stopped to "shop" their display of confections to take home -- all complimentary. So we walk away with a small box of chocolate covered hazelnuts and a brittle.

This was and insanely good experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khermiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your special meal at Seasons so much. We hope you will come back for your next special occasion and perhaps enjoy our Chefs Counter Experience.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“haute cuisine”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The presentation of the food is amazing! The service is the best! Everything we ate, with one exception, was outstanding. Scallop appetizer, potato/garlic soup, beef filet were excellent. Wines were outstanding as well. However, the lamb medallions, which were two small silver dollar sized pieces, were fatty and paired with a strange combination of things on the plate. Too fussy. Not enough to eat, either. However, one entree missing the mark won't prevent us from eating there again.
Sunday brunch was excellent. We enjoyed the raw bar, eggs benedict and a very tasty mushroom, asparagus risotto with truffle oil. Champagne glasses were never empty, either. Excellent service on all counts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tropiclady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for joining us at Seasons and sharing your experience. On your next visit, perhaps you might enjoy our Chefs Counter Experience which provides a unique dining atmosphere where you get to interact with and observe the chefs as they prepare your dinner. Please see the dining page on the Ocean House website for full details and pictures of what to expect.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious farm-to-table cuisine”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellently prepared cuisine. The trip/meal was last month so I don't remember exactly what we each had, but all of us were VERY happy with our meals. Small portions, big price tag.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hfeinberg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at Seasons at the Ocean House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and hope that you will join us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons at the Ocean House also viewed

Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Seasons at the Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing