We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Getaway”
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Idyllic Getaway”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Perched on a hill overlooking the beach, the charm and character is noticeable upon arrival. Once inside the details makes you feel as if you entered a world of years past albeit with updates and all the modern conveniences accessible. I was lucky enough to enjoy a three course dinner at Seasons and my choices (oysters, monkfish and a selection of desserts) were all superb. My husband enjoyed a nice breakfast overlooking the waves. Rooms are nicely appointed and the soaking tubs divine. Turndown service with evening treats, welcome scones and the Molton Brown toiletry products were all enjoyed. I hope that my next visit affords me more time to enjoy the spa/fitness area as well as the beach but for a quick weekend getaway for any New Englanders, this spot can't be beat.

Room Tip: request an Ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLastBite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
There truly is so much to do here, that it is hard to fit it all into one visit. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit so much and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    71
    52
    25
    29
See reviews for
137
397
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Two days spent here for a small conference. A blissful setting, amazingly well appointed rooms, terrific food, bar, ambience and staff but didn't get a chance to try the other amenities sadly. The beach is beautiful and wild and is no doubt amazing in warm weather but was still fabulous to walk on in late October. The cleanliness was flawless, the bedrooms and bathrooms were impeccable and attention to detail is top notch. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Felt truly spoiled and will go back, either on business or for pleasure, if I can.

Room Tip: Balconies are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
It sounds like another visit is in order so that you can take advantage of all our amenities and visit the beach in the warmer weather! Thank you so much for your glowing review and we do hope to see you back for a vacation.

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The. Ocean House at Watch Hill is a spectacular designed house with a great view of the Atlantic. Parking is complimentary (truly ) and the staff is old world, kind. The restaurant is another story. We had reservations for 1:30 and were seated promptly. Quickly we were served sparkling water, 20 minutes later bread, another 10 minutes the wine list, 5 more minutes the wrong wine, another 10 minutes, the correct wine and the order taken, 10 minutes another confirmation of our order, 15 minutes the order arrived but overdone. Coffee arrived shortly after ordering.
The Harp music in the lounge was a relaxing finish to a long meal on a quiet anniversary lunch.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. Please know that we a truly sorry for the issues you experienced during your meal and your feedback is a critical tool in helping us improve our service and better train our staff. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and redeem ourselves with a level of much higher service.

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We celebrated our daughters 40th birthday with a family gathering for the Sunday brunch. It was fabulous and I am planning a return trip before the end of the year. Everyone was attentive and explained very detail. It was a bit overwhelming as a first time guest but we were well taken care of. The food, presentation, and waitstaff were excellent. The next visit we will pace differently so we can enjoy our time there even more.

We had our 6 month old grandson and he was flirting with several of the guests or was it the other way around? Our day was complete when we took pictures on the porch with the beautiful ocean in the background.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiehasgigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Ocean House and saying you’ll be coming back is the best compliment we could ask for! Thank you for celebrating your daughter’s birthday with us!

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A wonderful resort providing many modern amenities while retaining the old world charm. Beautifully appointed rooms, scenic dining views, understated yet refined common areas. This is a wonderful place for that special occasion. The terrace rooms offer outstanding vistas and the bathrooms are almost too nice to leave!
The staff is attentive, courteous and professional. Dining in the restaurant is a fantastic experience with a great wine list. Within walking distance of the main street in Watch Hill. The Ocean House offers something for everyone. Do lots....or do nothing. Treat yourself...you will not be disappointed. See Peter in guest services for advice, ask for Molly at dinner service for your waitress. You may even contact Chef John to see if he will create a special meal for you and yours. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: 209 King Terrace. Spectacular room with exceptional view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I think you said it perfectly – “do lots or do nothing.” Whether you want to relax and unwind or take advantage of all our activities, April is a wonderful time to visit! Thank you for your kinds words and I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Have been to the ocean House on two occasions. Only for dinner, not to
stay. it is a beautiful property. it has been done over but still maintains the feel of
a grand hotel of years ago. The views are spectacular.If celebrating a specual occasion, don't hesitate to celebrate there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeabreezeNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It’s wonderful to hear that we have succeeded in our efforts to maintain the historical feel of Ocean House. We hope to see you for a special occasion soon!

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I are expecting our 3rd child so we booked a suite at the Ocean House as a last getaway before the arrival. I was very excited about the trip but did not expect what an amazing property this is and how luxurious and restful it was. The buildings are beautiful, beach lovely, restaurant very good with a beautiful view and interesting dishes (I had the best pancakes of my life) and the no tipping in addition the spa, daily activity suggestions and friendliness of the staff were unparalleled in my view. We live in the city and have stayed at the Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental and while I enjoyed both of those hotels, their hospitality does not come close to the service we experienced here. I honestly cannot think of another place we stayed where the staff was so accommodating and friendly and took care of every detail. Maybe on our honeymoon in hawaii. It is expensive. But worth it in my view.

Room Tip: we stayed in the weekapaug suite. It was gorgeous. Next time we go back, I don't think we will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for our kind words. While we think a hotel’s physical property is a very important factor, we strongly feel that it is the staff that makes the experience! I am so glad you found our staff to be so hospitable and that our team was able to make your babymoon a trip to remember! Hopefully we will get to welcome the entire family next time!

Regards,

Daniel Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
305 reviews
5.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
216 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#7 of 17 in Westerly
126 reviews
6.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing