We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A five day visit recently gave my wife and I a chance to sample all that the Ocean House can offer. It is an iconic hotel, where the location and feel are a reminder of a different era. The room was magnificent with high quality beddings and decor and even binoculars to capture the priceless views. The facilities were top notch, highlighted by a croquet lawn and timeless porch with rocking chairs that invited us at all times of the day. The spa was good and consistent with a boutique hotel. The hotel service generally was remarkable, from the front desk staff to housekeeping (we never saw housekeeping carts or staff), however, the only issue I had was the slow pace of service for all meals. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and for the overall experience the Ocean House rates near the top of the list.

Room Tip: A balcony is nice but as long as you have a full view of the water, all rooms are beautifully appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Ocean House for your recent visit. We truly appreciate your notes regarding the service and staff, and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. In addition, we have addressed your comment regarding the slow service with the food and beverage team, and we look forward to improving. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    74
    52
    26
    30
See reviews for
141
404
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spent several days here in late June and had a wonderful time. Service was excellent, rooms were large and spacious and the private beach was very pleasant. Small details were done right, ensuring that we could relax and enjoy the property and our time at the beach. For example, babysitting was easy to arrange and let us enjoy dinner plans without stress. Overall a great experience and one that we look forward to repeating.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room or one with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biztraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your Ocean House experience. Your review encompasses what we strive to accomplish each day, as we agree; it is the small details done right. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights in late June. Beach and view was gorgeous. Property was immaculate. I thought some of the staff was a little inexperienced (early in the summer season), but everyone was very nice and tried very hard. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you your visit and we are pleased you enjoyed the beach and views of the Ocean House. We try very hard to get our summer staff trained as rapidly as possible to support our fantastic year round staff, and your comments are well received. We look forward to welcoming you for many summers to come.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having had a terrific first stay at The Ocean House, we decided to visit again in November 2012 for the long Thanksgiving weekend. Our room, number 216, had a terrace with views of the bay (it was quite cold, so we did not use the terrace this visit). Room 216 was very nicely appointed with a separate sitting/reading nook. While I am not a big fan of turkey, I do like all of the trimmings, and we really enjoyed the Thanksgiving dinner. My husband does like turkey, and he said the turkey was the best! The meal that was our favorite was brunch/lunch in the Seasons Restaurant overlooking the ocean. Hands down, the most delicious eggs benedict. The beauty of the hotel, its location on the beach, the terrific service and great food make The Ocean House one of our favorite getaways from New York City.

Room Tip: In warmer weather, it is nice to have a room with a terrace. Our first visit, we had a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Ocean House to celebrate your Thanksgiving Holiday, we are delighted that you enjoyed the cuisine and accommodations. We hope to see you again in November for another relaxing holiday.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just left this outstanding property after 6 wonderful nights. Starting with one of the best check in experiences I have ever had, the staff went out of the way to ensure we had a great stay. I was there on a business trip with my wife. The building was completely rebuilt a few years ago but retains an old world style and charm with all modern amenities. Great food too. Thanks for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Ocean House for your business trip and we are delighted to read you had a great stay with us. We take pride is escorting our guests to their rooms upon check-in and I am pleased you enjoyed that experience. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early June and loved every minute. The staff were wonderful, the setting amazing, and the building/facilities impeccable. Not a bargain by any means, but worth the splurge. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We work very hard to ensure our guests find the service and the setting worth the splurge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place - where else can you get a beautiful, historic, restored, 5 star luxury resort on a perfect beach anywhere in New England, let alone 90 minutes from New York City? The rooms and building/amenities are as new, tasteful, large and thoughtful. The food is farm to table and excellent, with wine pairings that are well chosen and not just the expensive ones. The spa, the beach, the workout facilities - all well done and the service overall is very attentive. You could certainly say it isnt cheap, but its worth every penny. If you want cheap, go somewhere else.

Only negatives - we left some clothes by mistake and their policy is to put them right in the lost and found - is it that hard to call us or just send them ?
- It could also use a tennis court, the affiliated racquet club was a 10 minute drive

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yalmojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and explored the many offerings at the Ocean House. It is our policy to hold items left behind until we hear from the guest who owns them to be sure they are sent back to the correct person.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
312 reviews
5.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
219 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
25 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#9 of 17 in Westerly
127 reviews
6.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing