We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otherwordly”
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just spent two nights here. Best Relais & Chateau I've ever been to. The rooms are incredibly luxurious and the service impeccable. Walk the beach to Westerly, play a round of croquet w/ Teddy, the on-staff pro, have a drink at the bar then dinner and you'll go home very fulfilled!

Room Tip: Driving up on a Friday can be very time-consuming regardless of whether you take the Merritt or 95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSP10504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

You certainly made the most of you time with us at the Ocean House. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please come see us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 774 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked a reservation at this hotel on 4/16/12 for the upcoming wedding of my son (9/29/12). My future daughter in law had her heart set on having her before wedding pictures taken here. I booked my room at a pricey tune of $791.34 and my future daughter in law booked a suite for well over $1000.00. We were JUST informed 2 days ago that she would NOT be able to have her pictures taken there since they have booked a wedding and THAT bride will be able to have her pictures taken there. We were NEVER informed of this when we made our reservations, in person. While there are many favorable reviews for this hotel, they neglect to mention that you are easily cast aside when big money shows up. You can imagine the disappointment we feel after booking well in advance and specifically stating we would be having pre-wedding photos taken. Shame on Mr. Daniel Hostettler for ruining our plans for the sake of the almighty dollar!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
14  Thank TeachPE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

While we understand your frustration, we are perplexed by the intensity of this response. The other side of the story is that we were never aware of your desire to take photos on property the day of your wedding. Once we became aware of this desire, we went to work to find a way to make this work for both parties; our bride who had been planning her wedding with us for nearly a year and our guest (your future daughter in law) who we had just found out wanted to use the property for photos the same day our bride was getting married here. It is our policy, for just this reason, that we do not allow more than one wedding on property at a time. We work very hard to be sensitive to a bride’s desire to be the star of the show on her big day. Unfortunately, the options that we offered (pictures the day before, the morning of or the next day) were not satisfactory to you. As we stated on several occasions, we were very happy to have your future daughter in law take photos at the hotel during her stay, simply not during the same period of time as the bride staying and holding her wedding with us. Ultimately, our first priority has to be to our in-house bride and we are sorry for the disappointment this has caused you.

Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary and had a grand time. The view was to die for...our room spotless and lush to the enth degree and service always with a smile...life at the Ocean House is fun. :)

Room Tip: Personally I love ocean front...always a breeze :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svengali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary with us at the Ocean House. It is a lovely place to celebrate a special occasion. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my 7th visit to the new Ocean House. It is a really spectacular property on an equally spectacular setting. The hotel remains impeccably kept and maintained. Staff is friendly and accommodating. However, the wait staff in particular tend to be young, inexperienced, and slow to the point of frustration, especially when trying to get a cup of coffee, a refill, or settle the bill which is always cause for sticker shock. You don't want to be rushed when you are paying top dollar but you shouldn't have to spend as much time sitting and waiting at your table for the wait staff either.
We also noticed that there have been some subtle changes in the amenities. For instance, the Ocean House does offer complimentary snacks in the room which is a very nice touch. In the past year the nuts have been changed to goldfish crackers and the trail mix is of a little lesser quality. Toiletries which were in the guest rooms have also seen a change. They did have some nice face cleaner and toner in travel sizes for hotel guests--now no longer offered. The shampoo and conditioner in the shower are now in generic bottles. This is probably a cost savings idea that wasn't thoroughly thought through. The generic bottles with the same product would be fine if the caps on the generic bottles didn't rust and get on your hands. It seems a wee bit tacky for such a fine hotel.
We had dinner in the Club Room one night which was a delightful experience. This is the Members Only room and is an elegantly appointed room that speaks of the grand salons of bygone ocean going liners. It was quite beautiful. The food was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast in Seasons was also yummy. There is something that is just oh so decadent about a lobster omelet or the OH Eggs Benedict also done with lobster. The chunks in both were huge and quite delicious. These are two dishes that are well priced for what they are. Some of the others less spectacular and a bit overpriced. The OH starts each table with a bread basket at each meal and they also have the nicest selections along with fresh butter topped with sea salt. These little touches make dining quite an experience.
The guest rooms are all well appointed with in room safes, flat screen tvs and gorgeous bathrooms with deep soaking tubs and bubble bath to wash all of your cares away. We have taken full advantage of these little luxuries. The beds are incredibly comfy with fabulous linens and it is wonderful to fall alseep to the sound of the crashing waves on the beach.
The beach is one of the best in the US and all over the globe in my estimation. Sitting on the Verandah terrace or in Seasons' dining room or from any of the ocean view rooms, you feel a sense of calm and tranquility looking out at the ocean. The water was delightful for early September and it was a treat to be frolicking in it.
All in all, the Ocean House is an experience to be savored and enjoyed but they are still working on perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your continued patronage of the Ocean House. We are pleased you find your stays so enjoyable that you come back again and again. September in Rhode Island truly is a wonderful extension of the summer and worth the trip. Regarding the room amenities, we do get many comments about our snacks – especially when we try something different. We appreciate your feedback about both the snacks and the toiletries and will share them with our floor valet and housekeeping staff for consideration.

Warm Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you have a special occasion coming up or you just want to splurge this is your place. Beautifully maintained. The room we stayed in was gorgeous and had a huge balcony overlooking the ocean. It was well appointed and no detail was overlooked. If I would criticize anything it would be they really should re-think their pricing. I would have stayed longer if I could afford it without taking out a second mortgage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for selecting Ocean House. Please consider visiting during a slower time of year as our rates do adjust. September is still a very busy month for us as the weather is still warm and enjoyable, but the colder months can be very pleasant as we are on the shoreline and you have the spa, many cozy fireplaces and we offer many interesting cooking and wine classes. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is beautiful but the service and food quality is sub par for what you are paying. For $1100 a night the service should be flawless and it is not. If you are willing to pay through the nose for amenities then you will have a good experience. You can easily stay in Newport for a 1/3 of the price and get the same scenery. Staff seems young and inexperienced. Bunch of college kids working a summer job instead of professionals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

As most hotels who have their “high season” in the summer do, we at Ocean House hire a substantial amount of college students and recent college graduates to accommodate the large influx of guests. We put our summer students through intense training and make it a priority to observe and coach them towards our high standards. I am sorry that our staff did not meet your expectations.

Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Ocean House for one night. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the wait staff do provide a very high quality of service overall. Given the outstanding reviews we've read about the Ocean House, our expectations were very high. However, while check in is (already a very late) 4pm, we learned that this isn't exactly when you can expect your room to be available. Our particular room wasn't available until 6pm. We were told that the customers who had our room prior to us were granted late check out at 4pm and the Ocean House didn't have the resources to turn the room around quick enough to let us have the room at 4pm. So, they knew that by giving late check out to the prior customers, their next customers would simply not have a chance to occupy the room they paid for. We thought this was extremely disrespectful and if they aren't willing to staff their hotel with the resources necessary to turn the rooms around quickly, then they should not allow late check in until 4pm or give us a credit for the time that we paid for but were unable to occupy the room. Even up until just prior to 6pm, the front desk staff couldn't commit to a time as to when we could get into our room. We had no idea how long we'd have to wait. The front desk staff apologized, but given the significant number of other families and couples waiting with us on the veranda, it was obvious that this is a normal process for the Ocean House. Especially given the price, we prefer to stay at hotels that treat ALL its customers with respect and therefore, recommend skipping the Ocean House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Travel4Kicks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We are sorry for starting your stay at the Ocean House off on such a disappointing note. We are currently in the process of addressing this issue and hope to have a much more efficient system in place shortly. Our set check-out time is Noon and our set check-in time is 4pm. That clearly gives us enough time to clean and prepare the rooms for our incoming guests. Where the problem arises is that we have been part of a travel program that mandates a 4pm check-out time for any traveler that books through this program. When one of these travel program guests utilizes the 4pm check out and we have an incoming guests who wants to get into the room at 4pm, we struggle no matter how much staff we have. We are not renewing our affiliation with this travel program and will soon be able to adhere to the Noon check out time. That will allow for sufficient time to clean and prepare the rooms to the 5-star standard we prescribe to, which does take considerable time to do. Again, we are sorry for your experience and hope you will reconsider visiting Ocean House again.

Sincerely,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
343 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#11 of 17 in Westerly
134 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range: $515 - $1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing