We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold standard”
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
new haven, ct
Level Contributor
434 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“The Gold standard”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

when I was akid we always drove to Florida from NYS and stayed in little family run motor courts where I would save the glassine "sanitized for your protection" bags on the glasses as some sort of souvenir. These motels were nice but once my father splurged and we stayed at a Holiday Inn which had (gasp) free shoe shine cloths. I added that to my glassine bag collection thinking "This place is a step above" and ever thereafter when we stayed at one of our little motor courts I would think," it's nice, but it's not like that Holiday Inn."

The Ocean House is the, place that has forever spoiled everywhere else for me:so that now it will always be "It's great, but it's not the Ocean House.". I have stayed in some great hotels but nothing will ever compare to this place. I won't go on about all the great things as it would just be reiterating the other reviews here (although I will say that my fiance, and a friend of his who was here a couple of weeks before us, were most impressed by the chilled water left in the car cup holders by the valet staff on checkout - a subtle but lovely touch I don't remember reading about).

as a suggestion I would simply say, take advantage of all the place has to offer, and the staff's willingness to serve, which is memorable. when you book they will send an email asking you about things you want, if you are celebrating an occasion, etc. If you are celebrating an occasion, they will acknowledge it very nicely. They will honour your requests - extra pillows, only diet soda in the fridge, lemon slices for tea - whatever...so ask. Morning wake up calls come with a complimentary beverage - it was great to sip iced tea in the early morn on the terrace and watch dawn over the atlantic.

The morning beach walk was invigorating. during it I mentioned I needed to get a postcard of the place to send and Renee, the spa director leading the walk, told me she had some cards. I forgot about it, but the next day when we were checking out (late afternoon - you can use the facilities after check out) she ran into my fiance and told him she was looking for me. Lo and behold she had a selection of note cards with beautiful photos of the hotel on them. Unbelieveable service.

Food (tasting menu especially) at seasons was wonderful and the spa services were also wonderful. Just sitting in the relaxation room and being served a tray of tea and snacks put it that notch above destination spas which I have visited and loved.

Everything about Ocean House puts it that notch above the best of the best. On a scale of one to ten, as spinal tap would quip, an eleven!

Room Tip: Terrace king rooms are wonderful. Rooms on the side have views of both bay and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sullific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I was so glad to see how much you enjoyed your visit, it is a privilege to be compared to your future travels in other hotels. We strive to provide our guests with the ultimate in service and to be the hotel all others are compared to. Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    71
    52
    25
    29
See reviews for
138
397
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Views, architecture, attention to details, service... all truly exceptional. Rooms are not spacious, but they're beautiful decorated and luxurious. Spectacular place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelicaBarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We agree that Ocean House is a spectacular place and we are happy that we get to share it with all our guests.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

All the reviews that we read were fantastic so we had very high expectations. We weren't disappointed. We've stayed at some very nice hotels and this is in our top 3. I'm almost hesitant to write about it because I want to keep it a secret for as long as possible. It's not inexpensive but we got a deal though Amex. I would gladly save up for it knowing what you get for the price.
From the moment you drive around the corner your breath is taken away. It was recently redone (2 years ago) and every detail has been tendened to. The staff, with the exception of the wait staff, doesn't accept tips. (when's the last time you heard that??)
We stayed in a deluxe room on the 4th floor. My breath was taken away when we were shown the room. Very large room (photos on their site, oceanhouseri.com) with a stunning bathroom with a very deep tub. The bed is to die for. Bathrobes, flipflops, snacks (malted milkballs, PF goldfish and mixed snacks) were in little containers for free consumption as was soda and waters in the fridge.
You are assigned a floor valet that tends to your every need, immediately. There isn't much for them to do since the hotel called us, twice, to see if we had any special request (b/f is allergic to seafood) before we got there. They also sent us a form a week before for certain types of pillows, spa appts, dinner reservations etc.
The beach is beautiful and a short walk from the hotel with bev and food service. Again, they are more than helpful. When my b/f realized he forgot the paper, one of them ran up to the hotel to get him one.
It's not inexpensive but well worth the price. The alcohol was a bit of shocker. $17 for a glass of Sav. Blanc that would cost me $12 at any other high end rest. or hotel.
They have activiites all day long (hotel tour, putting lessons, wine tastings, etc) if you choose not to sit on the beach or in any of the nocks to read a good book.
There are various restaurants but we only ate at the Bistro for dinner and the Veranda for lunch.
I highly recommend the Ocean House and will be going back.

Room Tip: I didn't see other rooms but being on the fourth floor gave us a very nice high ceiling. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggieConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean House. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Having traveled the world, can't think of a more beautifully situated ocean front setting, if you can look past the stilted service and just ok food for the price, you will enjoy this beautiful hotel. Valet and doormen are exceptional (they actually earn the tips they aren't getting with hotel's no tipping policy) but the rest of the service from front desk, guest relations to spa is disappointing. Every question we asked seemed to be the first time ever heard, and while met with a smile, was never answered, people disappeared and never seemed to return. We stayed in late June and were disappointed that the beach was "closed" on Monday, no food service or towels...we were on our own which we quickly got past since the beach at Watch Hill is stunning! Similarly, the outdoor restaurant on the hotel deck was closed because it was a Monday. The spa is immaculate and every amenity has been thought of. Unfortunately, my husband was redirected to an outdoor cabana to shower after checkout and afternoon at the beach while my daughter and I were directed to the spa??? Indoor pool is lovely and looks out to the ocean as does the beautiful fitness center where equipment looks brand new and the separate dance studio has on demand yoga and fitness videos...it could not be easier to exercise! The rooms are beautifully decorated, ours had a view of the bay which was just lovely even though not "ocean view." Snacks in the room are complimentary and replenished daily (malted milk balls, gold fish and bar mix with soda in the fridge). A quick stroll from the hotel offers quaint shopping, restaurants and one of the oldest (if not the oldest) wooden carousels in the country. Skip breakfast at the Ocean House for one at St. Clair's Annex and return later in the day for hot dogs and ice cream to make your beach get-away experience complete.

Room Tip: Rooms with a "Bay View" will still be lovely if ocean isn't available and will offer v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhkklk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We have already made plans to rethink when to open the beach next year as we have had a number of guests who were disappointed during the warm days we had this June. We hope you will join us again next year.

Best Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was our third visit to eat at the Hotel restaurant. The Ocean House is stunning in every respect. Complimentary valet parking and a warm welcome awaits your arrival. Although we had only been there twice before over a period of a couple of months, the hostess and our waitress recognized us and welcomed us back like long-lost friends. Both of our previous lunches were simply outstanding in all aspects. Our most recent visit was by a party of 9 was for the Father's Day Buffet Brunch which included a full range of continental dishes, hot choices, salads, fresh seafood on a raw bar, cold meats, cheeses and bakery goods all washed down with complimentary sparkling wine were all delicious. A beautiful hotel in a stunning location. Highly recommended for any occasion - but superb for creating that special moment. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Ocean House. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was recently at a wedding at the Ocean House. SPECTACULAR setting.
However, the service was just HORRIBLE- and I am sure the bill was over the top. Maybe the "CAT is away, and the mice are playing". However, these people don't even know which side to serve a dinner plate and which side to retrieve the same plate. Nevermind it was almost 10:00 by the time the main dish was served- 5 hours after the wedding itself. Outside bar was terrible- seems as though some guests had to roll up his sleeves and try to help out. And this is a 5 star place? Something is wrong in Watch Hill.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank AnnLouise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide a world class experience for all our guests and we will certainly address the service with our team. As to timing, unfortunately timing and number of bartenders is dictated by the bride as the host of the event, and sometimes guests do not agree with the timing of the meal as agreed upon with the Bride. In this particular event we have checked our records and the event began and the five courses were served as pre-arranged by the hosts. We will share your feedback with our banqueting team.

Best Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

First I would like to make it clear the Ocean House has not had a makeover or overhaul. It was completely knocked down and rebuilt as an exact exterior replica over a 4 year period. The inside is not true to the original but an excellent modern take on historic embellishments.
Second I whole heartedly agree with the review that the "rich" feel "entitled". They look down their watermelon chino's, navy blazers and stringy hair at those of us who are dining in their "domain". What they don't tell you is that these same people wouldn't set foot in the old Ocean House because of the creaks, moans and ghosts, but claim it as theirs now that it's done to "the 9's". That's okay, we win, after an initial offering of it as multi million dollar studios and jackets necessary on the verandah, it's now a rental and jackets aren't required.
That said, the food and drinks are excellent but nothing out of the ordinary. The one thing it has going is the view. While the beach is not easily accessible, if you want to sit, look, dream, it can't be beat in the area. Anyway, that's all I can say. Enjoy but don't take it seriously. Leave that to the entitled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandalust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments, you are correct that the Ocean House is indeed a historic replication of the original hotel utilizing approximately 5000 original artifacts in its reconstruction.

Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
306 reviews
5.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
217 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#9 of 17 in Westerly
126 reviews
6.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing